Help out around my home, garden in the heart of the Vallée de la Vezère, Mauzens et Miremont, France

Country

France

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I live in a renovated 16th century small farm, comprised of three buildings, shaped like an unjoined U. It is in the heart of the prehistoric vallée de la Vezère in the southwest of France, the Dordogne. I bought it as a ruin in 1990 when I was 27. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. 30 years on I’m now renovating my renovations.
    I have developed a passion for the garden and have a huge number of flowers just about everywhere.
    The project I have is to create an area of extreme peace and tranquility.
    I need help with sewing, weeding, hoeing, digging, raking, pruning, chainsawing, strimmimg, and everything involved with the maintenance and general upkeep of my property. In exchange you would live in the barn in the master bedroom. You’d be able to cook for yourselves , and also use the big private pool and grounds.
    If you have any interest in prehistory this is Area, and for History too! Gardening likewise....
    Named the ‘cradle of mankind’, the area is home to beautiful rock art caves, Lascaux, Fond de Gaume,
    La Grotte des 100 mammouths, and a huge amount of chateaux or castles, plus medieval fortresses and ‘bastides’ to visit. There are also two big rivers to canoe down, the Dordogne and the Vezere, golf courses, walks galore, typical local French markets to shop at and stunningly beautiful centuries old villages to visit.
    In fact I normally let this during the summer months or do HomeExchange.
    I’d love to host one person , two maximum for one week, at the mist two in April and May 2021.
    Anyone with sewing , gardening or building skills is more than welcome!
    You will be expected to work 5 hours. 5 days a week. No slacking . Can’t bear idleness or people watching me work.
    It’s work & not chatting on your phone !
    In return I will show you around & you’ll get good food.
    If after 2 days it doesn’t work out then I’ll ask you to leave .
    I expect you to keep your room clean , I expect you to wash up after yourself and to try and be tidy.
    No quibbling....

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is so much to see and visit here. It is a very popular tourist region.
    I am also an experienced English and French language teacher ( 36 years ) . I specifically taught adults and am good at clearing up hang ups and issues that block you and take away your confidence when speaking.
    For those interested in nature, I created my magnificent garden alone over the past 30 years. I can help you recognise plants, help you learn about planting, pruning, taking cuttings, propagation methods, preserving methods, and garden design. I’d be very happy to exchange knowledge with a seamstress especially as I have a sewing machine but don’t know how to use it! I need reminding since school is a long way away.... I’d truly love to welcome someone who knows how to sew , knit or crochet.

  • Help

    Help

    For this type of accommodation I would willingly take on Gardeners , electricians, plumbers, painters, farmers, anyone used to physical labour and willing to get their hands dirty ( with earth !) please.
    plus anyone who can use a sewing machine and teach me how to use it too! A seamstress is more than welcome.
    I have a vegetable patch and can teach you how to make natural fertiliser and other herbal remedies. I can help you learn French or cook or bake or feed chickens, or sow seeds .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A stone built 16 th century farm.
    Use of private pool 16m x 6m
    Use of big trampoline
    Use of utilities in a separate building .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your time off there are a multitude of activities available for all sorts of interests. History, prehistory, gastronomy, hiking, canoeing, ping-pong , trampoline, badminton, swimming, listening to the birds, watching them, mushroom picking, gathering fruit from my orchard and making jams or other preserves to take home, etc Look up the Dordogne and the Vezere Valley which is where I live.
    There is no public transport unfortunately but I’d be happy to take you out and about during the weekends.
    Ideally a couple or solo woman would be great.
    For working hours it would always be 2h30 am & 2h30 pm Monday to Friday. Weekends are free to do whatever you please.
    As I said earlier, you get your own food and cook for yourselves. I offer one meal a week in a dinner party style.

    You would be expected to keep the accommodation clean and respect the house rules.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 697855177552