Join our outdoorsy family for some childcare/household help in Drumheller, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Favourited 0 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Ryan and Dusti Semchuk, and are looking for part-time help with our 11 month old daughter, Jude. We also have two friendly, female dogs; a 14 year old pitty and a one year old rescue (unsure of exact mix).

    We live in the heart of the badlands, and dinosaur capital of the world! Ryan is a marketing guru and head of hotel marketing for a locally based company. In his spare time, Ryan enjoys BBQ/smoking (he can teach you how to smoke a mean brisket!), audio engineering, playing and making music, and he is a very capable greenthumb. Ryan has a license to grow personal cannabis, and is quite committed in pursuing his hobby of growing organic plants. Ryan is also an ex-certified snowboard instructor, and a great teacher if you need some help hitting the slopes! Dusti works part-time in the hospital laboratory, drawing blood and performing other medical lab tasks. In her spare time, she enjoys working out, brewing beer and wine, playing guitar, and cooking. She also travels for competitive roller derby.

    We are an outdoorsy family and we love to take advantage of the local beauty in our little valley. We have a very supportive, close friend base and cohort, who we would love to introduce you to! We were both raised in Drumheller and are living and loving the small town life! We are located 1.5 hours from both Calgary and Red Deer, and about 2.5 hours from Banff (helloooooo mountains!). Ryan has access to hotel deals through work, which can be passed along to our workaway! If you are into soaking up the Calgary nightlife or making a trip to the mountains for hiking or skiing/snowboarding, we can hook you up with hotel discounts on your days off! In addition, our workaway can access the gyms, swimming pools, and hot tubs in town at no cost using Ryan's benefits! The Rockies offer some of the best snow sports worldwide. Drumheller is a stunning small town with lots to offer and we’d like to show you why we chose to stay here!

    We have a very well-balanced home life and are looking for help when Dusti returns to work from her mat leave in October. Dusti works 2 days a week and we would also appreciate a couple of date nights per month. We would prefer some longer-term help for about a year until Dusti is hopefully back on mat leave with another child. There is also potential for the placement to continue after that point! Please note that you do not necessarily have to cover the entire year, but we would prefer a minimum stay of 2-3 months as we feel that is the amount of time necessary to truly experience our unique community! We have a large house with a very big spare bedroom that comes furnished with a king sized bed, end tables, and lamps. Our workaway would have shared access to the house, including our massive and very private backyard, as well as a soundproof studio/music room. Feel free to bring any musical instruments you may happen to play.

    We would love for someone to join our little family clan and amazing group of friends!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being raised in Drumheller, The Semchuks offer unique connections in our small town, and are knowledgeable about local events and attractions. Drumheller in and of itself has SO much to offer, as a tourist but also as a resident. We are closely connected to a vast local network of musicians, hikers, kayakers, hunters, amateur cooks, pet-lovers, homebodies and social butterflies, people who enjoy a few drinks and people who don’t, people who are 420 friendly and people who aren’t, and all of our friends enjoy hanging outside around a fire pit at all times of the year! Basically we are a laid-back, drama-free group of very inclusive and accepting people.

    Our home has a massive backyard with no alley; we literally back onto a lush green area about a 10 minute walk from the Red Deer River (don’t worry, we’re elevated enough so flooding isn’t a risk). We have a great big deck with a patio to lounge on, a natural gas BBQ, a fire pit, and a large garden. In the winter we have lots of outdoor fires, or cozy up to one of our two indoor fireplaces. Skiing is a huge attraction as The Rockies are so close. Summers here get quite hot and we like to spend our time tubing, kayaking, hiking, hanging out at the local brewery, catching some live music at the Last Chance Saloon in Wayne, or just hanging out in our backyard, which we consider to be our own piece of paradise.

    Drumheller offers a rich prehistoric history. We are the dinosaur capital of the world, and home to the Royal Tyrrell Museum of Palaeontology. A couple hour drive south (or a few beautiful days by kayak or canoe) will take you to Dinosaur Provincial Park, where dinosaur excavation is currently happening! Drumheller was also a booming coal mining community in the early 1900’s (with some of the last mines actually remaining open until 1979). There is a lot of history to explore in our community.

    City life is as close as a 1.5 hour drive to Calgary, and you can immerse yourself the Rocky Mountains within 2.5 hours. What more could one want?

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone reliable to watch our 11 month old baby girl at least two days a week, and help out with light housekeeping duties and regular house maintenance. Our workaway must also be okay with pets, as we have two friendly dogs who love attention! Some evening and weekend availability is required, but generally speaking the majority of the responsibilities are required Monday-Friday somewhere between the hours of 0700 and 1700. Typically speaking, the hours will fall on the earlier end of the spectrum as Ryan has some flexibility with being home early to relieve our workaway.

    Please note that our workaway will also be required to adhere to our social distancing standards while not working; but don’t worry, we have a really fantastic group of cohorts that will provide a very rich friend life for our workaway! I’m sure everyone will say they have the best friends, but ours truly are something else ❤️ If you’re looking to meet talented, genuine, caring, and compassionate people who are also chill and easygoing; we know the right people for you! It’s a passion of ours to bring likeminded people together, and you will be welcomed with open arms into our circle.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our workaway will have their own bedroom on the basement floor of our house. Access is through the main door. The workaway room is furnished with a king bed and end tables with lamps. If needed, we can arrange to have a dresser added, but there is also a large closet for storage of clothing and other personal items. The basement floor is also home to our soundproof music room, Ryan's personal indoor garden, and a large furnished family room equipped with a TV and a few video game consoles. There is also a natural gas fireplace in the family room. Our workaway will have their own bathroom in the basement with a large shower, and access to a tub on the main floor if you are a bath kind of person. You will also have access to all the main areas of the house and yard to use at your leisure.

    We are open to adding a workaway to our grocery shopping and cooking, or not if that’s what you prefer!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our workaway will have a lot of time off! Dusti works 2 days a week, and those would be your primary responsibility for providing childcare. Work schedule will be provided up-front, and any additional hours will be shared in advance. We are knowledgeable about local areas to explore and fun things to do during your time off. BC is also a short drive away if you wish to visit on your days off! There is no public transit or Uber in Drumheller, so you would be required to provide your own vehicle in case of on-the-job appointments or emergencies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, approximately 3 days/week.

Host ref number: 697421298482