Farming in the Rocky Mountains in McBride, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 206 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very busy family of six. My husband, myself and four wild and wonderful kids all live and work together on our farm. Our kids are adventerous in spirit and always upto something. We are currently expanding and have so many projects on the go. We raise beef cattle and goats and make hay as our main farm income but we have lots of hobby farm projects too. We spend most of our time outside working and playing in the amazing area that we call home. If you love hiking, biking, camping, star watching, peace and quiet, bird watching or animal watching this is heaven to you.
    We would love to share our life with travellers wanting to see and share in farm life and what it has to offer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be a part of a working family farm in Canada during your stay with us. Working cows, goats, and working dogs. Lots of natural Canadian nature and you will see how our farm is run.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Basically you will just be a part of our family for the time you choose to spend here. Working on small yard, garden or barnyard projects. We are open to different hours or schedules so that you can explore and travel as much as you were hoping. You will not be responsible for childcare but our kids take part in everything we do, so you need to enjoy the company of small children.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to learn German. My two oldest children have been studying German this year in school. We are very very basic still but interested.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a small (14X14 feet) private cabin on our property. It is about 200 feet from our family home. It has heat and electricity, a fridge, toaster oven. It has a double bed and kitchen table but no running water; however there is an outhouse and you are very close to our home that has full facilities and it can be used at any time. Meals can be eaten in our home with us or if you prefer to eat on your own food will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is important to us that any volunteers that stay with us conduct themselves in a child appropriate manner while around our children.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a huge amount of open land where you can park a camper or van. Closer to the house could be plugged in or further into nature would he off grid.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can discuss pets. We operate a functioning farm with lots of animals so pets need to be talked about and arranged in advance. We have three large dogs currently.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day but very flexible, 5 days









Host ref number: 696758827723