Come experience the Kootenay vibe and help on family acreage in idyllic Kaslo BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 27 times
  • Last activity: 7 Feb 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello travelers of our world! We are Dana and François and we live with our family in "Alpine Nirvana", Kaslo, British Columbia on the shores of the mighty Kootenay Lake. We moved to Kaslo nearly 6 years ago, having looked far and wide for a new place to call home after returning from our own "Workaway" experience through South America and Europe with our family in tow. It's now our turn to pay it forward to others. Through our own experience, we truly value learning about other cultures and wish to share ours in return. François is a wildlife biologist primarily doing consulting work from his home office for projects related to Species at Risk in Canada, and Dana is a conservation biologist working for a non-profit conservation organization based in Kaslo. We have one busy teenager at home (Luca, age 16 ) and another in her first year University FAR from home in eastern Canada (but we are looking forward to having her home for the summer in 2023 -Kenya, age 19). We have an energetic dog and an aging cat, and we LOVE being outside when ever we can. This is Mecca for anything outdoors. We literally have nature on our doorstep living on an acreage just outside of town. We love hiking, biking, canoeing, and generally appreciating our natural environment. At any given moment we are game for a bike ride, canoe ride, stand-up paddle, or hike in the forests around our home and would love to share this experience with you. François is French-speaking and Dana is English-speaking and we are a bilingual household speaking French and English interchangeably with our kids.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a bilingual French/English family (with a bit of Spanish) with our own traveling history we love to share. We value family time and shared meals and appreciate taking time to visit, learn from others, and appreciate our natural environment. Our hobbies include ANYTHING outdoors: birding, botany, learning from nature, music, biking, hiking, and being creative. We live in a pretty amazing place in this world, with Kootenay lake easily accessible for water fun, and Kaslo is a cute and vibrant small community with friendly faces on every corner. We'd be happy to immerse our guests in all things KASLO and KOOTENAY and be part of our family for the warm months of the year.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We live on a small acreage just outside of Kaslo. We would appreciate help around the house (cooking, cleaning, shopping), and garden/yard (mowing, trimming, weeding), help taking full advantage of the food we have lovingly grown (canning, preserving) and some small construction/fixing projects in the house and yard. Generally help where help is needed to keep the household running smoothly. At the moment we have a few house DIY projects underway including painting the trim around our baseboards and windows.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Accommodation is provided in a very roomy pop-up tent trailer parked in the yard of our home with a shared bathroom (inside the house). We want to provide private space for our guest, but want our home to be theirs while they are visiting. Our home is large and welcoming, bright, and comfortable. We live a 5 minute drive or 20 minute uphill walk outside of Kaslo and we would have a bicycle to lend as needed for you to get around. We will expect help 5 days of the week, but will provide accommodation and food for our guest their entire stay. We have limited cell range at our home, but unlimited and stable internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kaslo has a certain welcoming vibe and is a lovely place to visit with a surprising number of cultural and outdoor activities/clubs/festivals through the busy summer months. Although it is small, there is everything here that you really need (library, shops, stores, hotels) and ample opportunities to get immersed in all things Kaslo--including street music almost nightly downtown Kaslo, backyard potlucks throughout town, outdoorsy people going hiking/biking/canoeing on any given day of the week, the Langham Cultural Centre and theatre and the S.S. Moyie Sternwheeler museum and historical landmark that is the heart of our town. Kaslo is home to the Kaslo JazzFest August Long weekend every summer where prominent folk and jazz acts grace our town with their presence. Nelson, our service center with a certain vibe of its own is 1 hour south of Kaslo along one of the most scenic roads in Canada.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    François works from home and we have wonderful internet (thankfully)!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space to park a camper or van and you are welcome to plug in for electricity.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 694549259753



Join a family of 4 living by the water on Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Join our Canadian-Chinese family in Prince George, BC, Canada