Help with some gardening and renovation in Charente Maritime, France

Country

France

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/05/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    494

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple living in the beautiful countryside of Charente Maritime. We are on the edge of a small village 15 minutes drive away from the nearest town and 30 minutes from the beach. Christian who is French, is involved in village life and is also renovating an old house. June who is English, is an artist, painting in the ancient art of hot wax, so we are both quite busy during the day.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    The house renovation is a 40 minute drive away and Christian would like someone strong to go with him a few days a week to help clear the garden which has gone wild and give a hand with some final renovation on the house involving a small amount of tiling and plumbing if you have the skills.
    If you are a couple, June would like some help with spring cleaning, and preparing meals for the freezer.
    If you are fluent in Italian it would be a plus.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Italian, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a bungalow surrounded by fields and trees and on one side a herd of chickens, ducks and geese, which don't belong to us. We have a vegetable garden which has gone to seed, and a small chicken house. Your room is sunny and faces a field with a forest backdrop. If you find the countryside a bit too quiet there is the possibility of staying at the renovated house over the weekend. It is on the edge of a major town with plenty to do.
    We are not vegetarians, and normally have a hot meal at noon and a light meal in the evening.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here in the country there are some lovely woods, a castle, an old quarry/cum art gallery, and in the town nearby there is a Roman arena and some interesting walks. If you don't have any transport we can lend you bikes. There is also a bus from the village into town but it visits other villages on the way so is rather slow getting there.
    We are quite easy going but we like people to be clean and tidy and ask you not to smoke in the house.
    There is an electric piano and a guitar here if you can play.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our house
June and Christian
Host ref number: 694147353211