Help with organic horticultural project in friendly eco-community

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 601 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small community and charity, promoting learning about organic horticulture, and growing a lot of our own vegetables organically. We also aim to live an alternative lifestyle aimed towards sustainability.

    Most of us cycle regularly and we have one or two bikes available to borrow.

    As well as growing most of our own vegetables, we also plant trees, haul firewood, maintain and repair our ancient walls and the tower, and have events for children and adults.

    We only offer one week stays at present, sometimes we extend these but it's the exception rather than the rule. We try and host several volunteers at the same time so people get a chance to work together.

    We sometimes play music and like to have a good time around a bonfire.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers generally help in the garden with the continual gardening. Often we have woodland tasks to do. We also sometimes have building projects and general maintenance of the house and out-buildings.

    We expect volunteers to join in the cooking rota with ourselves. (The house is vegetarian and most shared meals are vegan.) Help is always on hand and non cooks need not fear! Washing and chopping vegetables is just as appreciated!

    When you're not helping out here you can borrow a bike to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside, or use the buses to visit Edinburgh (40 miles away), Dundee (20 miles), or St Andrews (20 miles).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an eco-house and a medieval tower set within two walled gardens of about three acres and about 13 acres of woods.

    We have a large static caravan for our guests and volunteers. We might also have space to stay in the house or tower.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5








Host ref number: 693724555831