Help us construct this beautiful family place to become self-sufficient in Region Haute Marne, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are a family of four, living in France, Region Haute Marne since August this year. We bought a 20-years-ago-restored old mill in the middle of nature and plan to start a mostly self-sufficient life here with growing our own vegetables, alternative individual-orientated schooling, plantbased living. We would like to create this place together with people, that want to come and live with us for a while and share this experience. So each traveler leaves his footprint on the mill by being here and contributing work into it. We want to respect the place and freshen it up, as there hasn't been much work been done the last years. We hope for help inside and outside the house and great cultural and spiritual exchange.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers benefit by getting to know us and our vision and lifestyle and contributing to the establishment of our special place to share with open-minded people. We learn each others point in life and perspective. Also you can learn about the different plants in the area, living in nature, establishing self-sufficient living.

  • Help

    Help

    The place is big and we need help and would like to work together in many different areas, depending on what the Workawayer can and would like to do. We can have several people staying here at the same time. At the moment we have four rooms ready at the same time , each with space for 2-4 people. If you have skills int the tasks listed below, feel free to contact us.

    Outside the house we need help with
    - building a kids play area
    (We don't have experinece with that and would like to find someone , who might have already built one and knows how to build a climbingframe with swings / with help of Sean and friends. We organise the material needed)
    - help install a 3 floor-wooden staircase (fitting a done staircase)
    - prune branches of trees
    - fencing the garden area (100meters)


    Inside the house we need help with
    - renovation work : two bathrooms need tiling (total 15qm) ; wallpapering in two small bedrooms , laying parkett in two small bedrooms
    - help with cooking (preparing lunch and/or tiding up after cooking and eating)
    - cleaning (hoovering floors , stairs, cleaning windows)
    - ironing

    Creative help:
    - teaching Lina the piano , generally teaching of music, art

    Other:
    -physiotherapy/ massage as we both struggle due to work/small kids with tension and neck pain

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer travelers to stay in a seperate guesthouse, that is attatched to the main building, where you have all you need. Two bathrooms, one of them with bath, both with showers and toilets, and four bedrooms in total, where minimum one , maximum 4 people can stay each room. The guesthouse has a communal area upstairs with a nice view on the garden and communal book area. Also a fully equipped kitchen and eating area with stack is in there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can enjoy your time the way you would like to. On our land there is plenty to do for someone , who loves nature, as we do :) Hiking, cycling, walking, running, inline skating (all along the famous path along the canal from Bourgogne to Champagne) , cayak/kanu on the river, swimming, join yoga and stretching with Lina, forest walks, realxing, meditation to only name a few options :)

    We live in the middle of nature, between Langres and Chaumont, two very nice old towns. Especially Langres is famous for its medieval flair and the history and philosophy of Diderot. Chaumont is supported by young vibes and influence such as street art and sports and quite modern. Both of the towns have weekly markets with local products. The region here is very natural and also has some lakes within 20 minutes drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

guest house/ work awayers house with 4 double bedrooms, fully equipeed kitchen, fire place , eating area and living room area
travelers room 1
Host ref number: 693128995791