Live Off the Grid!

Country

Canada

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/12/2019

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single working mom (in my early 50's) with two children ages 13 and 9. I have a BA in Social Geography and First Nations Studies and I work in the BC school system as an Education Assistant. We live in an off-grid home surrounded by forest in the country. We have a large breed dog who sleeps inside at night and a cat. Our family is LGTBQ friendly as my children were born and raised in a same-sex family. Our house is situated approximately 15 mins from our local town, 45 mins from Vernon, 60 mins from Kamloops, 60 mins from Salmon Arm and 90 mins from Kelowna. I work Monday to Friday with weekends and summers off. The children spend time in their other home about 50% of the time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a host, I would be happy to show you around the sunny North Okanagan Shuswap. We have lots of lakes, beaches and mountains here. We could go hiking, mountain biking (on dirt roads because I'm not hard core). It's about a 4 hour drive to the Rockie Mountains from here so we could go to some National Parks. I'm pretty flexible, so we could come up with something together. If you are interested in learning about green energy, I'd be happy to talk about our solar panel energy system that powers the house and what my experience of it, is.

  • Help

    Help

    Primarily I am looking for some help gathering firewood off our property for the winter. It has to be cut (with a chainsaw, which I can do, and split and stacked. Some general yard maintenance (weed cutting with gas weed cutter) would be helpful too and if you could just clean up after yourself, I'm not so worried about housework. Infrequently, it might include spending an evening with the children and/or dog if I need to go out. There's always a to do list, so I could add some interior house painting (like bedroom walls, etc). If you have any building/carpentry experience, we could build a framed wall in the basement. I would be happy to provide food for you if you felt like cooking for yourself as I'm not a great cook!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home has two rooms with one single bed in each room and one room with a double bed, suitable for a couple. Each room has a dresser, night table and night light. Not all the rooms have curtains at this point because privacy is not an issue here. We have 1 full bathroom with shower/tub and one 1/2 bathroom. We are not a vegan or vegetarian household but can easily adapt to your needs. We are a non-smoking household and so would appreciate non-smoking guests. Because we live off grid and live in the country, we have satellite internet which means it's not super fast but adequate. Also, due to our rural location, we do not receive cell service at home and we have no landline. We also have no cable or satellite TV. Our house typically watches Netflix for entertainment and uses wifi apps to communicate with others when at home. Because our home is run by solar power, we are energy conscious. This means there is no microwave oven or appliances like hair dryers or hot air popcorn makers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is 44 acres in size giving people lots of space for quite contemplation. At night, you are welcome to have a fire in the outside fire pit. There is a lake 5 mins from the house where kayaks can be rented. Because we live in nature we consider that, the local attraction. There is a Donkey Refuge nearby and a Wildlife Park near Kamloops. I have a vehicle and can take you sightseeing a few times a week. There is no local public transportation however, there are opportunities for car rentals in the larger urban areas, if you prefer your own vehicle. Throughout the North Okanagan and Shuswap, the area is considered culturally conservative with many people participating in organized religion. We do not practice a specific religion in our home, yet I do engage in a spiritual practice. We welcome diversity across all spectrum's of age, race, culture, religion, and sexual orientation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 692572398132