Help with some small maintenance and home improvement projects in the hills of Los Angeles, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 1360 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    63  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ WHEN WRITING A REQUEST, PLEASE INCLUDE ANSWERS TO THE 5 questions below. No answers and I can guarantee you won't get a spot.**

    World traveler (60+ countries), Los Angeles born and raised. I believe in getting the most out of wherever you visit and am happy to help you plan your LA visit to do so. A homeowner with a long list of small to large projects.

    QUESTIONS:
    1. Have you had your booster (3rd covid) shot yet?

    2 Take a look at google maps to see where in Los Angeles I live. LA is a giant spread-out city, and you should know before you arrive where I am. Include a note that you are ok with the location. My house is in the "Encino Hills" area of Los Angeles just off of Mulholland Drive next to the "Upper Canyonback trailhead". It's 3 miles/ 5km to bus stops, shops, groceries, coffee houses, bars, and restaurants. CLOSEST BUS STOPS: "Skirball Center" is Southeast or "Havenhurst and Ventura" is North. This is a scenic, but quiet, residential neighborhood in the Santa Monica Mountains. Hiking trails are less than 500 meters away. TO SEE HOW FAR you are from anyplace you want to visit, use google maps, from these bus stops, and add the walk time. ARE YOU OK WITH THIS LOCATION?

    3 A bit about what you would like to get out of the experience; language practice, sightseeing, hobbies, chill at the beach, etc. If in doubt about what to see or do in Los Angeles - including your interests, I will help you with some free time ideas. What are you looking to get from your visit?

    4. Which of my projects you are comfortable with (see list below)?.

    5. I have a bunch of references/reviews/feedback from previous workawayers. If you don't have a bunch, please include a link to some other social media (LinkedIn, Facebook, volunteering sites, Servas, trustroots, couching sites etc)

    Close to Westwood/UCLA, Beverly hills, etc. Venice and Santa Monica beaches are not too far.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Please include a bit about what you would like to get out of the experience, either language, sightseeing, hobbies, etc. What are you looking to get from your visit?*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Part of the cultural exchange on a farm or ranch is learning about animal husbandry, growing harvesting, compost etc. I live in a big city - so the cultural exchange here is city life, excursions, outings, ethnic enclaves, and everything the city has to offer. While LA is a big city it is perhaps unique in the fact that there are so many preserved open spaces in addition to the city and beaches.

    My preference is always completing a started project, but after that often there may be a choice. Because I have so many projects, you may also choose one that you may learn from or prefer working on.

    I Work in the travel industry (nothing to sell you, I only work with large groups), and am happy to assist in helping you plan your journey. Besides being an expert guide in Los Angeles, I Have been to most states multiple times and can help with road trip ideas, suggestions.

    Have now had 70+ workawayers here - most have been fantastic. Have been out with many of them, doing tourist stuff, showing them local life, hikes, gallery visits, including them in my games nights, parties, bar nights, enjoying ethnic dinners, wine, and alcohol tasting, museums, holiday light walks, etc. If I know a bit more about your interests, I will also have a list of free time suggestions for you to make the most of your stay in LA.

    If you are interested, we can cook together, happy to help with English. Happy to share conversations, meals, etc. You may explore the city on your own, or I am happy to show you around on my days off.

    ** I DO NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE WITH VISA APPLICATIONS.**

  • Help

    Help

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Looking for people who can help with one or more of the following. PLEASE INCLUDE WHICH PROJECTS YOU ARE INTERESTED IN WHEN WRITING A REQUEST:*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Work full days (3 per week) and have full days off (4 per week) to explore the city.

    -Painting outside: Repainting house, trim & retaining walls, including minor wood and stucco patch
    -Digitizing/Scanning old photos into a computer.
    -Trimming shrubbery, and removing Ivy vines from fences. Planting new hedges, etc.
    -Installing drip irrigation
    -Building raised planting beds/ retaining walls.
    -Moving a shed from one side of the house to the other (disassemble and reassemble).
    -Some small pieces of furniture to refinish.

    These projects are best suited to someone with a bit of experience:
    -Sewing drapes
    -re-upholstery of chairs
    -Creative Fence/Privacy screening idea and execution. Something artistic would be great. (Started)
    -Plumbing; sprinklers, and new bathroom fixtures.
    -House painting inside. (half done)
    -Installing wood, tile, and stone floors.
    -Low voltage lighting, installing new electrical outlets and/or fixtures.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ACCOMMODATION: House is non-smoking. Private bedroom, Queen bed (152 cm × 203 cm). Sheets and towels provided. Bathroom shared with others.

    MEALS PROVIDED: Breakfast Daily. *Lunch and dinner on workdays only.* For example work Monday, explore the city Tuesday and Wednesday - 3 meals on Monday, breakfast Tues and Wed), The house is not vegetarian or vegan - BUT we eat a large quantity of vegetables, and always 2 salads a day. You are free to purchase and cook your own food on free days if you are not out exploring the city,

    PLEASE BRING: Gifts are really not necessary. If you are traveling from home as opposed to visiting me in the middle of your journey, I wouldn't object to a favorite candy, food, wine or liquor that you would share with me. With customs and airline restrictions this may prove challenging or impossible. Cooking a favorite recipe is a great gift. So is Sharing a favorite card game. Please, no gift that takes space or needs dusting (no magnets, no model cars, no scarves, etc).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The list of NO's:
    *No smoking inside. Not a fan of smoking outside - I live in a high-risk fire zone.
    *No pets. No kids.
    *No perfume or cologne or other scents. Keep your space neat and tidy.
    *I don't drive to the airport -public transit and uber and lyft do.

    Spend your time off exploring everything Los Angeles has to offer, try trip adviser for ideas, or email me with your interests.

    My house is in the "Encino Hills" area of Los Angeles just off of Mulholland Drive next to the "Upper Canyonback trailhead" is less than 500 meters away. It's 3 miles/ 5km to bus stops, shops, groceries, coffee houses, bars, and restaurants. CLOSEST BUS STOPS: "Skirball Center" is Southeast or "Havenhurst and Ventura" is North. This is a scenic, but quiet, residential neighborhood in the Santa Monica Mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Private desk with wifi in your room. Ping 10-45ms. Download 190-205 MBPS Upload 10-11 MBPS.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is street parking for van, not motorhome.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Work 3 days a week, 8 hour per days. Take 4 days off. Usually you may choose the days.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






































Host ref number: 689634699251