Come and enjoy the Midnight Sun or Northern Lights in Lapland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I bought a 100 year old house in the north of Sweden (Lapland) in the spring of 2020 that need some care and love. I have been living abroad for many years and have now returned to my roots. I'm living with my low allergen dog. I enjoy the nature, mountains, trekking, mountain biking, photography, reading, socializing, and listening to music. Currently I'm authoring three books (two fictional and one fact book) which keep me busy plus working at the local hospital.
    My project is to paint the house indoors (ceiling, floors, walls and stairway) and some windows on the outside. A new additional kitchen is also going to be installed upstairs.

    I have experience of having a WaW and have been a WaW myself. I have lived abroad for many years and know how fun it is to meet locals and learn about their culture and habits. I think by talking and socializing we will easily be able to find a way to work together. I will respect your integrity and privacy and I hope opposite. I expect from you that you are easy going, tidy and neat and take own initiatives. I also expect that you have organised your own visa if needed and have a travel insurance that cover health and dental care if something should happen to you.

    Please note the map show the wrong location. Search for South Lapland and Västerbotten.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can offer you eg some insight to the north of Sweden close to the polar circle, about Sweden in general about our customs, in wintertime to see the northern lights and in the summer the midnight sun, visit the Swedish mountains, to learn about the Samic people in Lapland. Go out in the woods to catch some mushrooms and berries during the summer and fall. Walk around the lakes nearby. The village is quit small with 3.000 inhabitants but have nearly everything you need with eg small hospital, liquor store, pharmacy and food shops.


  • Help

    Help

    I need a helping hand to renovate, paint the house indoors, to build some walls and install a second kitchen. Also need someone to house sitting in periods as I sometimes work a lot and need someone to look after my easy-going dog.
    Share ideas how to make the house cozy and unique - I'm open to new ideas and like input from others. Go to flee markets and find old stuff that fit the house from 1920.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate
    Norwegian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom(s), living room and bathroom upstairs (I'm living downstairs). You will have access to a washing machine and dryer upon request. During the fall/winter I will install a small kitchen for WaW people to cook their own food upstairs. Free Internet with no limits 100/100 Mb and an iPad to use. Streaming services such as Netflix on either iPad or television. Sound system with streaming capabilities.

    I will provide (three meals the days you help me eg 5 days days/week maximum) food and cook or we cook together in a shared kitchen (bottom floor). If you have special dietary requirements just tell me and I will (try) organise it or you help me to learn to cook something new. Keep in mind its a small village, so special food like vegetables are difficult to get hold as they mainly have the basic stuff. There is a busstation just 200 meters away from the house that will take you in all directions. I will offer you a bike (electric or MTB) and helmet you can use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can easily travel with busses and trains in the northern part of Sweden to see samic places in Lapland, mountains, big rivers, endless woods, river rafting, mines, and wood crafting. I will also take you on some excursions. Just keep in mind, distance between bigger villages here is around 100-200 km. There are many nice lakes nearby where you can fish if interested. I will organise the permission for you. You can pick berries and mushrooms in the woods nearby. When we have snow here it comes around 3-4 meters (see picture from this winter)...but I have a snow blower to manage the snow. You can also make contact with other WaW hosts and workers up here to gain more experience eg husky sledge farms, reindeer farms, fishing camp.
    I don't mind you smoking...but please smoke outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    100/100Mb fiber in LAN and wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Free parking next to the house. Electricity upon request for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a dog in the house and welcome other dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or upon our agreement

Host ref number: 687318182615