Help with gardening, landscaping, basic building and general maintenance on Waiheke Island, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 386 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple with three girls ranging from 28-35 in age. The girls live in Auckland and we live on Waiheke Island. We live in Palm Beach and overlook the beach. We are just 30 metres from the water and our beach is renowned as the best on the island.
    Waiheke Island is a haven of beautiful vineyards, olive groves and wonderful beaches, all just a 35 minute ferry ride from downtown Auckland and 18 kms off the coast.
    There is a great range of activities on the island including sightseeing, mountain biking, golf, tennis, clay shooting and there is a lot of eco tourism,sea kayaking and great fishing.
    Industries on the island include wine-making, olive production, tourism and arts, crafts. There are more than 30 wineries on the island.
    Waiheke Island enjoys an exclusive microclimate due to its relatively sheltered position in the Gulf. It is sunnier and warmer than Auckland City and is drier during the critical grape ripening period. It is a piece of magic on this earth!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening help i.e. weeding, trimming hedges, fertilizing plants and clearing some light bush. Landscaping - building garden beds Some general maintenance eg. cleaning decks and windows Ideally this would suit a couple.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little french and a little thai

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation would be in a self contained studio unit with its own bathroom. This is brand new guest accommodation and finished to a very high standard. It looks over the water and is 30 metres walk to beach! Food is included also.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers on their time off can explore the island, go to the beach and do any of the sports mentioned above. There are many vineyards and eating places as well. We have 2 sea kayaks that can be used. We are busy people - I am a tennis coach on the island and my husband is semi retired but works in Auckland so we don't have a lot of time to spend in the garden - it is a sub- tropical environment - we have banana trees that are currently producing.
    On our days off we take our boat out fishing or play golf and swim. We are easy going and like easy going people as well. We do treat people well and we loved the first couple we had to stay

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Host ref number: 685383783586