Needing help with training and riding show and rope horses in Southwest Manitoba, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/07/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple (25 & 28) living a very busy fast paced lifestyle, and could use some help! We live 4 miles from a small town in Southwest Manitoba. We live on an acreage with 10 horses, a few head of cattle, cats and 1 dog. We have no kids. Enjoy the country lifestyle!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Improve English speaking skills. improve knowledge and skills with horses. Experience life on the prairies. Experience rodeos and horse shows

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for a person who is experienced with riding horses. We are located near a small town in southwest Manitoba. We currently own 10 of our own horses, and also take outside training horses in. Courtney trains show horses (western pleasure and English discipline). Jordynn trains rope horses. We would need someone who is able to assist with feeding and caring for the horses, catching/turn out, doing groundwork, tacking/untacking, etc. Also would need to drive the quad and roping dummy for Jordynn while training on the rope horses. Most of our own horses are already very well broke (Courtney's show horses, and Jordynn's main rope horses) so the person could help with conditioning these horses in the spring to get in shape for shows and ropings. During the week, Courtney is in University and rides horses in the evenings, and Jordynn is generally home all day, riding horses and doing general maintenance around the yard as well as doing leatherwork. On weekends, Courtney is riding horses/gone to horse shows, Jordynn is gone to rodeos to bullfight or at roping events. Therefore weekends would likely be spent travelling to events with one of us.
    Besides working with horses, the person would help out with general household duties, cooking, cleaning, and some yard work. We don't keep a very nice yard at the moment due to lack of time, so could really use some help there! Such as lawn mowing, gardening, flower planting/watering.
    Preferred months are from April 1 to end of October.
    Work days would be approx. 4-5 hours during the week days. Weekends vary depending on if we are home or away, but definitely would be able to have some free relaxing weekends.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in our 3 bedroom, 1 bathroom house. Food will be provided by us. Weekends spent on the road, would be staying in the living quarter horse trailer which has 2 beds.
    Non-smoking home
    1 small dog in the house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With time off there is a local golf course, lake and swimming pools nearby, a city with shopping 45 minutes away. But mostly, we just ride horses!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 683958854912