Artist and Traveler Jungle Home Getaway, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Country

Thailand

Favourited 185 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1035

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Heidi. I am from the US but live in Chiang Mai, living the 'digital nomad' lifestyle. I rent a rustic mountainside home in a quiet, peaceful, natural jungle community of 20 teak-wood houses at the base of the Doi Suthep mountains, 12 minutes from Nimman. The neighbors are about 70/30 foreigner and Thai/hilltribe.
    I am working on a book, film and online business. The three projects intersect around living your best life, owning your story through narrative therapy, and the power of healing after challenging life circumstances. I could use all the help I can get with web design both creative and technical, photography, animation, film editing, sound design, or even shooting new videos.
    My living space is an outdoor open-plan, two-building home with plenty of natural light, a covered, outdoor yoga sala / workspace and a very quaint shared kitchen with little stairs between the fridge and sink. I love this house and everyone who visits says how lucky I am! BUT KEEP IN MIND this is not a condo type situation! This is a home in a mountainside jungle environment. There are crazy-sounding birds, dropping leaves, wind, and less-than-optimal electric and water. But this is also its charm and I chose it, hands-down because I get to be in a city and still in nature and drive down winding dirt paths on my motorbike to come home. The burn season doesn't even bother me here, protected by all the tall, absolutely gorgeous trees with stars twinkling between their branches at night. Again, this is the jungle in the tropics. If you're freaked out by bugs, you're better off in the concrete condo blocks. Not saying there are bugs everywhere, but it's a natural setting.
    There's wifi and you would have your own bedroom / building (see more on that below). Twin-size bed with a comfy mattress and new sheets, blankets, pillows. If you have a companion we could try to figure out a second set of cushions / mattress for the floor. Right now the bathroom is shared but by next month I hope to have a private second bathroom attached to your room.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a unique opportunity to rejuvenate on your travels and experience the beauty and healing power of this jungle community on a secluded property on the side of a mountaintop. There are mountain trails close to the community with a beautiful waterfall less than a mile / about a km hike away. There is a year-round farmer's markets with some of the best organic and local products available in Chiang Mai, every Saturday morning right outside the house door basically. I have a vibrant plant garden and a continual kombucha brew available. I am a writer, filmmaker and explorer of various healing modalities and simple, spiritual truths. I have manifested a beautiful life that I'd love to share with you for a time if it's meant to be!

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for filmmakers, photographers, editors, animators and web gurus as I am working on a documentary and web-series about intentional identity development and the power of healing after challenging life circumstances. I could use all the help I can get with web design, headshot photography, animation, film editing, sound design, and even shooting new videos.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish, some Norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is an adjunct private bedroom that is its own bedroom. There's a sturdy twin-size bed, new sheets and blankets and wall fan. I am working on getting some additional furniture in there and a private, connected bathroom installed. Everything takes longer in Thailand, a lesson I'm slowly learning to flow with ;) There is also an outdoor yoga sala and I have an extra sleeping bag and outdoor sleeping cushions. I need to get a hammock and mosquito net still, though. Food can vary as well: anything from shared meals to preparing your own or going out and buying something delicious and cheap from the local village around the corner: it really depends on what you are looking for and if you have a motorbike. I'm quite happy to share and prepare large, healthy meals such as Indian lentils or big salads: how everyone chips in will depend on a case by case scenario. I like to have a chill, flexible household, based on comfortable and f communication!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I would definitely recommend you rent a motorbike if you stay with me. It can be so much fun and I am happy to give you tips on driving and safety and show you the general ropes: it's not hard, truly and it's really an awesome, uplifting way to get around!
    There is high-speed wifi at the house.
    I have a water delivery system of RO water in glass bottles that you can chip in on if you'd like a case (200 baht per, which is pretty expensive in Thailand but also the best water you can drink!) We can also order cheaper, regular plastic water bottle delivery.
    Everything in Chiang Mai is close by - probably about 15-20 mins to get anywhere driving safely and slowly in traffic. This is a great way to live in and get to know this amazing city and still have your quiet time / space away from cars and smog, never mind explore an authentic Thai village just out the back gate where you can find an amazing meal anytime for under 50 baht. I drive into the village everyday just to buy a coconut for 25 baht.
    There is also a very cool salt-water pool resort with mountainside views called 'Center of the Universe' less than 5 minutes on back roads away from my house. I have a membership there and spend many days working pool-side.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 683261264685