Visit beautiful Assynt (Nr Lochinver) and help our family-Highland Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/02/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family is made up of myself, and my two teenage daughters and a small cat with a big personality. My eldest daughter Robin is 19 and now lives at her Uni. Aria is 15 and lives at home and travels to the local high school daily. We love all things arty and earthy, we love food and cooking, we sing a lot, my daughters love drama . I run my own business running empowerment workshops and working with Bear Magic . I need a workaway to support me with running the household as I rebuild my business after cancer treatment.
    House/cat/teen sitters required for specific dates in May and End July early Aug

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Please do your research on our location . Assynt is a very special place in the remote NW Highlands of Scotland. The landscape is stunning, wild and beautiful. There are many opportunities for walking, hiking, kyaking, climbing and many other outdoor persuits. It is a geopark because of its unusual geology. It is a very remote small community so do not expect night clubs, cinema's or city facilities. Do come with a willing attitude to join in small local events and groups.

  • Help

    Help

    1-Family housework including laundry, hoovering & mopping, dusting cleaning bathrooms and kitchen, windows,unloading shopping,sorting recycling, occasional deep cleaning such as sorting cupboards washing paintwork etc.
    2- cooking and clearing up healthy family meals ( we will provide recipes and ideas as we have special dietary requirements)
    3- supporting with homework and activities, driving to places if you can drive.
    4- occasional gardening in our small garden,
    5-occasional small diy & decorating projects

    I have health issues and there may be times I am not able to support you with the work.You must be able to organise yourself and show initiative. It is unlikely that the work will always take the full 3hrs each day if you are well organised.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small double bedroom in house, share rest of house with family

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please note - this is a VERY remote location - public transport is very infrequent . It would be ideal for driver , or non driver must have independant self reliant attiude. It is possible to share lifts with neighbours and so on but you must be prepared to reach out and make friends. Having said that - its the community that makes it special and the landscape that makes it amazing.
    BEWARE - it will be wet/snowy/windy and cold during the winter ( and sometimes in summer) and we are on a low income.....the house is not kept tropically warm - please bring warm layers for indoors and good waterproof layers for outdoors , good boots, warm slippers etc. If you dont like cold this is not the place for you.

    We are smoke/drug/ alcohol free household

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hrs per day roughly, some weekend house & teensitting




Host ref number: 682849528166