Active learning for homeschooling + household help (dog experience a must!) Sydney, Australia



Favourited 583 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️1 or 2 helpers needed next week or so - cricket enthusiast a definite plus!*️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    After 2 years back in Singapore, now on a new adventure in Sydney! Setting up home so not everything is streamlined & functional, seeking help primarily to Homeschool Ben (13) + light cleaning. {Dogs not yet arrived :+)}

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Homeschooling as an approach to life - if you went to school, you'll be surprised
    *️️️️️️In Singapore I had many probiotics & made sourdough bread - can discuss. Hoping to get milk kefir & beet kvass again soon

  • Help


    Main purpose of the exchange is homeschooling for Ben - I had been doing the teaching myself however as I need to work I am looking for someone with an easy, non-linear, productive way with kids to tutor a 13-yo 5 days a week, 3-ish hours per day. Being slightly dyslexic an active approach has been most successful using games (making up games!), challenges, quizzes, videos. Traditional teaching styles will be a struggle (few/no books, guidelines) - non-teachers have had the most fun!

    Ben is a into hanging out at the skatepark & can pull some major stunt scooter tricks, now also developing a deep interest in the sport of cricket, so if you can bowl & bat, you will have an immediate advantage! Additionally would be good for him to practice meditation, so great if you can get that moving. Being chilled yourself will be a great example on how to meet challenges - a large part of our 'teaching' is a conversation about things no-one tells you at school :+)

    ~I cannot guarantee days & hours - I want you to enjoy your trip & have enough time to really look around the city, On the other hand we are a family & daily tasks cannot always be predicted, but neither are we strict & routine-based. Come with an open mind & an easy-going approach & we will definitely all have fun!

    ~Everyone needs to help with housework.

    ~Couples welcome but be committed to doing separate tasks clocking up your own time.

    ~Please note that I do not cook for you - this will be communal by agreement or you just do for yourself. Kitchen is stocked & we discuss what things you like when you arrive. The arrangement includes VEGETARIAN food - particular preferences may be accommodated as long as no more expensive/hasslesome than normal; expect to pay for your own luxuries (+:

    ~Minimum stay of 10 days.

    ~Room has 3 bed spaces & is SHARED.

    ~Requirement for openness, flexibility & proactivity - happy to help you plan your activities but I won't have time to come with you!

    ~Practical do-ers preferred! - please no incurable romantics or large sense of entitlement... sorry, bad experiences :+(

    ~the dogs are young, energetic & will bark loudly when you arrive, so MUST be confident & competent with dogs (see picture)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️When contacting me please advise how you see your potential role in the home, what experience you have with kids Ben's age, dogs & cooking/housework

    - thanks!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (Italian, German, French - these are rusty but we can communicate!)

  • Accommodation


    Shared room in 3-bed house, North West Sydney

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *️️️️️️House in Castle Hill, slower pace of life close to the country
    *️️️️️️I work in the City there are many express busses to all parts of Sydney - from June there will be a fast train
    *️️️️️️1 hour to Blue Mountains + walks in National Forest close by

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (Max. 25 hours/week)

Feeling the freedom, Vietnam 2018
WorkAwayer dinner - the best Northern Chinese food I know on Geylang Road
That's Ben jumping his friends at the skatepark!

Host ref number: 681612683352