Join our family and lend a hand in Leeds, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 68 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    edit: I'm sorry to say that we might have found someone to stay with us indefinitely but if things change I'll amend the calendar.

    Hi there! There's 3 of us here, our 3 year old son Buckley, David - The Daddy and myself - Ewa - the Mummy. We live in a 3 bedroom house in Leeds, UK.

    We're struggling to fit it all in and I have a real need for "the village".

    We live in a nice area called Kirkstall, near the Kirkstall abbey ruins.

    David works full time as a Health Visitor and I work some evenings as an administrator. We volunteers at a local Community Garden and generally try to spend time out and in nature.

    We are a little bit alternative, into attachment/unconditional parenting, so aiming to be more loving that disciplinarian so it would be lovely if you were able to accept that and try to follow a similar approach. We basically try to be gentle, loving and child-led.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak both English and Polish fluently.
    You can join us at the allotment /community garden where we're learning how to grow vegetables.
    We're out and about every day, either to the abbey ruins, the museum, library and playgroups, we walk a lot and spend some time outdoors every day and go on trips out visiting county houses /parks for walks.

  • Help


    At the moment I'm try to "do it all" and not managing. I wish I had a female companion to share the day with. Interchangeably play with Buckley and help in housework. To not be a worker but more like a family member or a friend. For example I often spend long time washing dishes whilst Buckley begs me to read to him. It would be lovely to simply have someone to read to him whilst I wash up or vice versa.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Polish

  • Accommodation


    Spare bedroom in our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's the abbey ruins very close and abbey museum. And other museums further afield.
    There's a canal and various parks.
    Bus stops with frequent buses very close by. Train station also within short walk.
    We have a car we use to go on trips in the evenings and weekends.
    I have a road bike as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Buckley and me - Ewa :) (in Malta)
Buckley sleeping on the allotment in summer. One of our friends and members of Kirkstall Community Garden in the background.
Please note that the house in the background isn't ours, I'm struggling to find a picture with David as well as Buckley.

Host ref number: 679431295668