Sustainable farm help near Torquay, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Andrew and my 12 year old son and I own an 11 acre farm on the coast. We both love travelling and have travelled through Asia and Australia together. Our farm is and will be continually developed into a sustainable farm where we have an orchard, veggie gardens (to many to handle with two of us) and animals and bee hives!(15 in total!). We live off the grid and would love to have people come and stay and share there knowledge and help around our property. In return we can cook together and harvest our own home grown veggies and also gain knowledge of other cultures through having people stay with us. I believe this will be benifical to my son for his understanding of different cultures and religions and beliefs hearing it from individual travellers and not just text books at school!

    On occasion I would need help with care of my son after school if I am late home from work. He is self suffice t and can cook and clean.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Australian culture
    Australian farming and climate differences
    Food and cooking differences

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening
    Cooking
    Vegetable harvest
    Looking after and feeding animals
    Fencing
    Caring for my son on rare occasions
    Building things together on my farm like planter boxes and green house from recycled materials

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan and annexe with cooking facilities and fridge

    Food can be main meal supplied by myself so we can eat together at night and talk about our day and share experiences in life.

    Visitors can get their own breakfast and lunch

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live at the start of the great o ran toad. There are beaches walks monuments and also Torquay is 5 minutes away with surf museum and all the amenities of a coastal town can supply. Drive 5 mins. Walk 25-30mins

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 679262791352