Help renovate our house and around the garden in Lippetal, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/03/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This year we created a new family project and moved a bit further away from the Ruhr region (hometown Wetter (Ruhr)) to the countryside of Lippetal into a huge old house, which used to be a "guesthouse and a restaurant".

    We are: me, my twin sister (31) and my brother (36) with our partners Yvonne, Melina and Martina. My wife and I have two kids, Milosz (almost 3 years old) and the little baby girl (6 months).
    The place ist pretty big and we plan to renovate a lot to get 3 apartments plus some space for guests. Furthermore we have an old fashioned bowling alley and on the weekends some groups come by to play, eat and drink there.
    There is soo much work to do that I don't really know wehre to start:
    The garden always invites to cut the grass, collect leaves from the trees, build a greenhouse, renovate the doors of the garages...
    We always need help with cleaning windows, washing clothes, tidy up, order/reorder garage or cellar.. - help with running the household
    We love food from other countries so your welcome to cook some meals for hard working people ;)
    Childcare is also welcome
    Painting walls...
    Walking with the dog
    groceries..

    We would love to have some more animals one day, or a vegetable garden. Maybe we are going to have some bigger events like weddings or other parties.
    Generally it's our aim to reuse and recycle as much as possible, a bit against "generation consumption" with renewable energy - but these plans still have to be fulfilled in the future.

    But first of all we need to get hand over all the stuff that isn't working properly. There are no paying guests, and Workawayers are not being asked to prepare rooms for or otherwise help with an accommodation business. Guest rooms are free for helpers and I'm sure one of the many jobs suits everybody.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an open house, so next to the people who live here, there will will friends, parents, grandparents and other family members who are always welcome to visit us. Therefore we can provide many different types of German inhabitants :P Furthermore my aunt lives with her family in France and we try to visit her every year. Thats why we all are able to communicate a tiny bit in French as well. My wife Martina speaks polish fluently and our kids grow up bilingual. We all learned English at school and we are always happy to learn new languages. There are some bits and pieces of Spanish left over and I spent half a year in Portugal. I think we can present quite a portfolio of languages and there will always be a way to communicate and learn from each other.
    We have breakfast around 8 am, lunch 1 pm and dinner around 7 pm. Due to the kids that's quite regular and everybody is welcome to join our Abendbrot or the other meals. We often cook hot meals for lunch, but sometimes in the evening as well. It all just depends on what the fridge presents ;)

    The outer space is rural and the cows basically stand in our garden. At night it's quiet and pretty dark. The only noises come from the neighbours who own a lot of pigs, but all of our neighbours are at least 200 meters in distance.
    Generally its good to have a drivers licence but it's also possible to give you a drive to the next train station. Buses are pretty rare at least in front of the house :P But we also have a lot of bicycles and Lippetal is famous for the cycling paths and also canoeing tours in the summer season.
    My brother and I are in a wakeboarding team and of course everybody is welcome to join and test our hobbies as well. The cable for wakeboarding and waterskiing is at a lake in Beckum, which is 20 minutes by car.
    Other nice free time activities for relaxation can be found in Bad Sassendorf in a kind of spar with sauna and salty swimming pool.

  • Help

    Help

    Since there is so much stuff to do, I think there will always be something suitable for everybody. If you contact us just give us some information about you and your preferences regarding the jobs you are good at. It's always good if you are someone who sees the work that have to be done ;)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    As described in our profile we a are colourful mix of people who love to play and learn with and from different languages and people.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The Gasthof offered guest rooms and as long as we are renovating the main house, we keep the guest rooms for family, friends and workers.
    Everybody can have his/her own room, the bathrooms would be shared, some goes for the big kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are absolute beginners in hosting helpers, but I have some experiences in being a helper myself through Workaway. I spent three weeks in Scotland and some weeks in South England.
    In my opinion it's good to build some routines. Therefore I would suggest that helping starts from 8:30 until 12:30, 1 hour lunch break and then again 13:30-14:30 of course that's no set into stone. But it should represent a tiny line of orientation. Five hours per day is manageable and coffee-breaks are also welcome ;) We all try to work as much as possible and also put stuff from other persons to its place. Although originally its the plan that everybody tries as hard as possible to put everything he or she used back to its place..
    Two days per week are totally for you, which ones can be chosen freely. We think it´s best to spend at least 2 weeks with us to get to know everything.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Right now it's only my brother who works from home 3-5 days per week. My wife is still enjoying her parental time before restarting her job in home office as well. The other two of our team still live and work in another town and mostly join our projects at the weekends. The internet connection seems toi be fine at the moment, but we are waiting for the construction guys to install a new high speed cable.. might come end 2022 - we don't know yet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Almost any size of van can be parked in front of the house. Electricity and water is available as well.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Since we have our own dog it´s not a big deal to have other dogs here as well. Hopefully they like each other but they can also stay in different spaces.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 679238222378