2 acres of woodlands and a home that needs maintaining/updating. Fairbanks, Alaska, USA


United States

Favourited 57 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I'm a retired math and science teacher. I've done most of the work on the original part of my house myself. That area will be my woodworking shop. I'm finishing the addition which is now the house. I have 2 acres of light woodland that needs maintaining with one corner that needs to be a garden. My dog Inika, loves people!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Fairbanks, Alaska, is a beautiful place every season. Summers, with the long days are almost magical. Autumn is gorgeous with the changing of the vegetation. Winter is also magical with the aurora, stars upon stars, and a literally sparkling landscape.

  • Help


    I need help getting my personal workshop and home areas updated. I've started the construction, but need help finishing. In the winter, I'll need help with the above and with general firewood and outdoor maintenance. In spring, summer, and autumn, I'll need help in the yard and around the property, building rock barriers, gardening, and putting in a rainwater catchment system. Eventually, I'd like to build a guest cabin.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    There is a loft bedroom with a full size bed and room for your personal stuff. There is also a single bed in the more public shop area. I will provide meals for the days you are here working. I am considered a good cook and will serve locally produced, or harvested food as often as possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are trails nearby useable summer, autumn, and winter. You can snowshoe and ski in the neighborhood as well. We can work out a flexible schedule to take advantage of events and any long road trips. You will have to rent a car for those long road trips, however. There really is so much to see and do!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You'll have a great deal of quiet space with excellent internet. We can negotiate the balance of usage.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A medium-size van type vehicle would be fine. There is a flat area to park where electricity and Wi-Fi will reach no problem.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Your animal must be extremely obedient, well taken care of, clean, and mannerly. We can talk about this.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 677334394928