Enjoy modern, hip living with a quirky young host in Somerville, MA, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Howdy! I'm a fun and quirky young professional with a lot of varied interests. I'm a data scientist and also have a background in teaching English as a Second Language for business clients, as well as marketing + business skills. Also, I used to play chess in competitive tournaments, and know how to make a few good cocktails, happy to teach you anything you're interested in. I really enjoy thoughtful, long conversations and sharing funny stories and talking about life.

    My place is quite large and there is plenty of room for privacy here. I'm in the middle of decorating it like a pirate ship! Our location is in Somerville, a hip neighborhood just next to Boston, there are many bars and restaurants that you will enjoy here, including a speakeasy and some fun salsa clubs, and an axe throwing bar.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help improve your English as a Second Language through conversation practice and informal lessons. Also, I could teach you to improve your chess strategy, and to snowboard! I can teach you some marketing tricks if you own a business.

    I also have a ton of strange, intriguing, funny life stories to share.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly looking for a little help around the apartment, cleaning, taking out the trash, doing dishes.

    Also for someone to occasionally cook us family meals to enjoy together [I will pay for the cost of the ingredients if we have a shared meal while hanging out]. It's just me living here, so cooking for 2 people should be simple :) We can share some nice conversation and exchange fun life stories.

    If you have any organizational skills, it would be great if you could help me go through all the clutter in the apartment and decide what to throw away, donate, sell on craigslist or keep, and facilitate selling the items. I wouldn't be making any profit from selling items; they've already been purchased and we would be selling the items for a discounted price from the original price.

    Also, it would be cool if you could drive me around to some places - the grocery store, etc - maybe to a ski resort if you're interested in going skiing/snowboarding with me! I don't have a car and don't like driving alone.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am really bad at Mandarin! But I could probably say hi and order some basic food....also learned Italian in college but it's been a long time, would like to start learning again. I have 7 years experience teaching English as a Second Language and can teach you!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A regular sized, comfy couch in the living room.

    For the most part, we will buy our own food, [I will pay for the cost of the ingredients if we have a shared meal while hanging out].

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You'll have plenty of time to check out the axe throwing bar down the street, go to the local park which has many nice dogs you can visit and a skateboarding park/parkour area, take the train to Boston and visit the downtown sights like the public library which is magnificent architecture, go to the science museum/one of the beautiful peaceful art museums. Also 3 hours drive away there is an awesome ski resort!

    I sometimes play loud music during the day, especially when working but the house is big enough so I can go in a different room if it bothers you. You'd also be welcome to play music during the day.

    Please no cooking peanuts or peanut oil on the stove or oven - I'm allergic
    Please don't take my food without asking haha

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    High speed wifi and plenty of laptop workspace.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved dogs only. No cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours or less a day, 5 days or less a week


Host ref number: 676538293451