Join our family aiming to become self-sufficient on our organic farm in Kaukapakapa, rural New Zealand


New Zealand


Favourited 127 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We’re an unschooling family of 5, living on a lifestyle block of just under 6 acres in rural New Zealand. Just under an hours drive north west of Auckland. We are so fortunate to have so many requests and workawayers here to help, we’re having lots of fun. We’re currently looking to fill 3 - 23 February. Please shout out if this suits you.

    About us:
    We’re aiming to become as self sufficient as possible on our organic farm. We run 2 beef cattle, a small flock of sheep that we spin and felt the wool from. We have 2 beautiful saanen goats, Snowy and Gouda that we have milked and made cheese from. We often have piglets and plenty of poultry that we raise for meat and eggs. Almost all our meat is grown on our farm. We process chickens and ducks ourselves. We are breeding turkeys and geese for this purpose too.

    This last year we started a beehive and have already had our first honey harvest, so you can gain hands on experience of beekeeping whilst staying with us too.

    We are always working on our vegetable garden and are always expanding that space to be able to grow as much as we can at home.

    Our downtime is spent on our small boat in the summer out fishing or playing on the beach.

    We have a games room with a small pool table, fooseball table and ping pong table.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Everything a farmstay could offer. You will be involved in it all! From milking goats, trimming their hooves. Caring for poultry. You could even learn how to dispatch a chicken or duck if you so wish?

    My background in textile design means you can learn traditional skills such as spinning, felting, weaving and dying.

    You can also help to make cheese, sausages, pickles and preserves. I sometimes ferment vegetables and sprout seeds. We make our own yoghurt and sometimes bread.

    We make our own soap and creams from times to time so I can teach you that also.

  • Help


    There is always something to do on the farm. Therefore we require enthusiastic, energetic fit and healthy people to stay. Your time here will be very hands on and having practical skills, using your own initiative and having confidence with animals will be a bonus. We will be keen to teach you and share our knowledge. Help around the farm is required even with mundane tasks like weeding and mucking out the animal areas.

    Patience and attention will be needed with our 3 boys as they ask lots of questions and are always wanting to learn. We believe in life learning so try to accomodate whatever interest they have at that time. If you have musical knowledge (guitar or piano) or speak Spanish that would be a fantastic bonus. We welcome any art and craft or practical skills you have to offer our children.

    We are adventurous with our food and enjoy many cuisines. So will delight in your cooking skills also. Again we encourage you and our children to take part in cooking also and with tidying up each day. Even on days off.

    General household cleaning, bathrooms, washing and folding, dishes, vacuuming etc. Occasional building of structures like chicken coops or cold frames.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    There are multiple options depending on what suits at the time. Primarily we’ll be offering a space in our stables (ex stables). It is very quirky with no windows and open areas exposed to the elements. Upstairs there is a double bed and there is a second sleeping area for one person below on the sofa bed. There is a kettle, toaster and small fridge for a peaceful breakfast. The bathroom will be shared in our house. There is a small foot pump sink for your use in the stables. If we are not using our caravan you may be able to use that as your own space. Our water is collected and filtered from a tank. So we have a very limited supply. We ask that showers are kept to a minimum and short. Showers are to be wiped down afterwards as mold can build up quickly.

    We would enjoy spending meal times together but after everything has been cleared away we value ours and your downtime to have the evening to ourselves, but we are known to stay up chatting in the evening!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We believe we live in a very special position that’s elevated with stunning views over looking a beautiful river. Close by is the village itself with a dairy and a fish and chip shop. A short drive away is a picturesque reserve with pleasant walks to pretty waterfalls. The local garden centre has a wonderful sculpture trail. And on a more grand scale is Gibbs farm that is open on select days showcasing gigantic sculptures by the likes of Anish Kapoor and Andy Goldsworthy. Within 20 minutes drive there are the Parakai hot springs and Snow planet. Beaches are approximately 40 minutes away by car. Please do note public transport (bus service) is Now available feom our village going to Helensville and Silverdale with connwctions to Auckland but it does take a few hours! A lift into the city can be arranged at 5am and home late afternoon during the weekdays.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Hours worked need to be spread throughout the day and flexibility is appreciated.

Most of the family with our first workaways on their last day.
Hoping to harvest honey by Christmas.
The back of our farm with the old deer shed in the distance and the older stables which houses our chickens and ducks.
Your comfortable accomodation in the stables Hayloft. Glamping style!
A steep climb to the bedroom. Below is a sofa bed for you to relax.
The downstairs accommodation of the stables.
We start hatching chicks in September through to December. Unbelievably cute!
Plenty of Chickens to feed and eggs to collect.
So many babies wondering the farm at Christmas time.
We keep 2 steers on our farm. Currently red devons.
Our majestic Royal Palm turkeys.
We’re so lucky to be elevated and have amazing views of the river.
Our goats had babies. We now milk them and make cheese with the milk.
Cheese making is becoming a regular occurrence
Experience a night in our tree tent!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 675246325443

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more