1 / 5
new host  

Help our vegan family of three with household tasks in Dunedin, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 29 times
  • Last activity: 29 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are a vegan family of 3.
    We live in Dunedin in the South Island of New Zealand in a house overlooking the water, only 10min to the city center.
    We enjoy the beaches, hikes, biking, gardening and nature.
    We have experience with camper van conversion and are building a tiny house, - the perfect start for a first arrivals in New Zealand who wish to travel the country and want to gain knowledge about travel & work here.
    We will support you to have the perfect start in New Zealand in exchange for help with the household and learning about your culture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German Kiwi family

    We are vegan and provide vegan meals, also running a vegan food business

    •We can share culinary skills
    •We can help finding employment in Dunedin (full time, part time)
    •We can provide tools and knowledge for camper van conversion (you have to do the work yourself)
    •We can give introduction into kiwi culture and support in opening bank account, get IRD number if needed

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    •Mainly flexible hours

    •Can send you the schedule prior arrival

    •Please indicate in your message if you have skills or experience:
    dishes, cleaning, tidying, laundry, cooking, taking care of our pet ducks, pick up / drop off, sewing, childcare

    •Vegan traveller's preferred

    •Driving skills in New Zealand peferred

    • 2 traveller's coming at the same time: one person will help with the tiny house project or childcare and work in the household as well (separate bedroom available if needed)
    Please indicate any building skill/experience

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    •Private room with king single bed, overlooking the water

    •Rent & Food will be exchanged for work

    •Due to running a vegan food business on site, no animal products can be stored/consumed in the house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    •Bus stop on the bottom of the hill
    •We can provide a bike, there is a bike track on the bottom of the hill
    •Quiet neigbourhood with beautiful wildlife around
    •Signal Hill Reserve with BMX / bike tracks 5min
    •Lots of fun activities in Dunedin: downhill biking, water sports, surfing, hiking, walks, beautiful wildlife, museums, art gallery, library...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Fast speed wifi, we have a nice quiet outdoor area

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size van can be parked in our driveway

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Your pets need to get along with our duck

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week- all food/ingredients , mainly Saturday morning

Host ref number: 163985163888

Feedback (1)



Join our family around the house and in the garden in Canterbury, New Zealand
Country lifestyle with fun family of four on our amazing property near Nelson, New Zealand