Join our young family and help us with our carbon neutral passive house in germantown, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a young family, with a one year old boy and an old dog. We love to cook, explore, and enjoy our new home. We're passionate about sustainability and are working to set up systems in our home for bulk foods and supplies. The house is really special and has been written about in Green Building Advisor and is an awesome learning experience for anyone interested in building their own home one day.
    Germantown, where we live is in the heart of the Hudson Valley, there's great restaurants and farms nearby, swimming holes, state parks and we're close to Hudson, Rhinebeck and Kingston which all have tons of stores and cafes.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    workawayers will benefit from the cultural experience of exploring the historic Hudson Valley and it's agricultural history. There's all sorts of music, arts and food in the area that workwawayers can enjoy. In addition the house and the land it's on is truly unique and is a prime example of leading building science applied.

  • Help

    Help

    We're finishing up building a carbon neutral passive house in the Hudson Valley of New York on a 50 acre farm. We're looking for help in the final little details of the house, organizing the workshop and landscaping.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private guest house with kitchenette and bathroom, AC, Heat, Wifi, huge windows with great views.

    we'll provide breakfast items for the workawayers and will make lunch and dinner. If they're interested in making dinner some nights that would be awesome but we'll provide all the ingredients.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have high speed internet and a separate guest house that's just as nice as our house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    depends on the pet, as long as they get along with our dog and baby.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 672869569921