Help reorganise our vegetable garden and spend time in nature with some fantastic bush walking, rock climbing near the Grampians Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

 

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello From Julie and Neil. We are a very friendly couple with a love of nature, animals and gardening. We have just sold a farm and have a lovely home on a small acreage where Wilbur Woo the pig lives happily with sheep, Stormy, Sati, and their girls along with Sal the youngest. Jess and puppy Jodie work the sheep with Neil. Bongo looks after the 20 chooks. We look out at the Grampians Nation Park. There is fantastic bush walking, rock climbing and much nature nearby. Lake Fynes is just up the road for fishing, swimming and also has a sailing club for small dinghy sailing on the lake. We love meeting people from other countries so we offer a lovely environment and food for a small help around the garden & house and a chance to share our lovely environment with you. . We do not offer payment as we are not a business.
    I run during the winter with a friendly cross country club on a Sunday morning.
    We love meeting people from different countries and learning about their lives and sharing ours.
    We will provide a lovely room suitable for a couple or single person. We will be able to pick you up from Stawell station if needed & share our local environment with you. Kangaroos and Emus are easily seen in the Grampians area.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Live in a truely country area. See our nature, animals and go hiking. Kangaroos and emus can easily be observed in the local area.

  • Help

    Help

    We are learning to make wicking beds and reorganise our vegetable garden as well as pulling out an old pool and re decking the area. If you have skills in these areas and would like to offer some help or learn along with us that would be great.
    The Grampians is a wonderful nature area offering A range of bush walking, rock climb and restaurants. There are lakes near by for fishing and canoeing although we don’t have a canoe. There are wineries and cropping as well as sheep farming in our area.
    Our visitors will eat with us and food will be provided. They will be free to share food from their culture using the kitchen to prepare
    We are an Aussie couple who love meeting and learning from other cultures. We will share our home and busy lifestyle around animals and gardening. We can also support the visitors understanding of traditional life in the Grampians by the local indigenous people through Brambuk.
    We don’t have a web site and we are not on social media. Anyone who would like to come will be involved in everything we do.
    We have just sold the farm which ran sheep and cropping.
    We can share our local environment visiting small country towns some which are struggling to survive due to the change in farming practices. The small farms are disappearing being swallowed up by the large company farms.
    We love meeting and learning from different cultures. We are in our 60’s but active and healthy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lovely room is a nice clean home. Very comfortable

    Our visitors will eat with us and food will be provided. We love to try different food so they will be able to share their cultural food with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is full of nature. There is fantastic hiking throughout the Grampians Nation Park. There are also lakes for fishing and places for rock climbing.
    It is a real great area for outdoor activities.
    I run with a cross country club throughout the winter and you are free to join this activity.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 671438388969