Help out on my farm and learn organic, biological gardening principles in Skogås, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 514 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The farm has been a dairy farm for 100 years and a cerfitied organic farm from 2010 .My farm is located in Skogås near a beach of the lake Drevviken .Skogås is about 20 km from Stockholm. My farming follows organic, biological gardening principles. Due to their age, my parents quit the dairy farming and I have since then been running the farm producing organic vegetables. I try to have a sustainable development of organic farming. Therefore, I choose to grow my own organic plants as much as possible.The garden today covers approximately 300 m2 and approximately 105 m2 are of polytunnel. My ambition is to gradually become more self-sufficient. 
    In the recent years I have been having horses. The farm is going to be a place where workawayers can come and learn about ecology,equitation,the aspect of organic gardening and to develop their writing skills and inspiration to create literature about it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a workawayer here in the farm you are given an opportunity to know old swedish farming. It means that our conversiations are ranging from philosophy,literature and helping structures in the farm as well as developing your English. The farm is very close to the water giving a beautiful sight.

  • Help

    Help

    In the farm there is fencing, planting, sowing and accomodating the horses in the pasture. Also cutting grass, moving the horses and picking fruits. During the autumn there is the taking out of potatoes and pumpkins from the ground, picking of apples and other harvest. 
    If you have some ideas connected to organic farming you may have the opportunity to try them out in my farm. For instance baking, constructing or woodcarving. 
    It is essential that you enjoy being outdoors.
    People with skills of writing novels are welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two houses in the farm-a big one and little one. I use to be sometimes in the big house writing novels and most of the time the workawayers have meals together in the big house and in this house there is a big room in the basement with a separate entrance which can be provided. The basement has a wifi connection. Masks and hand sanitizer are provided. The workawayers choose their schedule when they want to help and when they take days off.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

     Buss 830 from Skogås centrum with direction Handenterminalen. Get off at Länna gård and walk about 1 km.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 669832698196