Help us create a permaculture paradise in Maleny, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2020

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Lachlan and This year I moved onto a beautiful 300 Acre block in the hinterland of the sunshine Coast. Also living out here is My good friend and Farm Manager Paul, and Staying with us at the moment is our friend Wendy. The property is majestic and peaceful, with many pretty hills and a creek running up the middle. during the morning we wake up to the birds and in the evenings fall asleep to the sound of frogs. We are creating a small business and hope to have the farm be as self sustainable as possible. We hope to create a permaculture paradise and get as many people involved in the exciting projects as possible. at the moment we have Chooks and ducks providing fresh eggs and Joy, 25 bee hives providing honey and some income, and cows. We also have two beautiful pigs and a flock of sheep. come play with us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am passionate about beekeeping and would love to share that experience with anyone who is interested. we live in a beautiful place and are open minded and looking forward to many interesting conversations and good times.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with a whole range of things. there are many projects in the pipeline. we are building a pig pen and looking after 2 beautiful pigs, building a sheep pen. establishing garden beds and a kitchen Garden. Establishing a Nursery for seedlings. There is also beekeeping work available. this could be anything from extracting honey to painting boxes and building beehives. Experience an skills are welcome but not necessary, as long as you have a willingness to give it a go and enjoy yourself then we will be very grateful for your company. We would like people to have a good balance of interesting work and play. If you have a drivers licence would be a great asset.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At present there are beds and rooms in the House. there is also a caravan and a house truck down in the Orchard, take your pick!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is some public Transport to the area however it is infrequent. The well Known permaculture village of Crystal waters is just up the road were there are weekly events and monthly markets. there are also very beautiful walks and national parks in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 668977734442