Enjoy the countryside with our family in Wexford, Ireland

  • Favourited 66 times
  • Last activity: 8 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    We are a family of four. I, Gillian, am a primary school teacher and my husband, David, works in Pharmaceuticals. Our little girl, Olivia, is two years old and is curious about everything. Our son, Daniel, is 5 months old. We also have a quiet little terrier, Maisy.

    We are located in a quiet rural area approximately 10 minutes from Enniscorthy, County Wexford (South East Ireland). As we recently moved, we would like to maintain and develop the garden. While we have no big projects to be done, we would like assistance with general housekeeping, light DIY and cooking.

    Both David and I enjoy cooking and baking and enjoy exploring new foods. We'd like to share this interest with others who have a love of food and cooking.

    We love the area we live in as there are (short) walks in a wood less than 500m from our door. Our neighbours are generally eco-minded and encourage a return of wildness to nature.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe that travellers will see the "real" Ireland, rather than the stereotypical Ireland presented by Hollywood! As we're rural, Workawayers who love to hike or explore the countryside would most enjoy our area. We're fortunate to have several forest walks in easy distance. Some of Ireland's most scenic beaches are on the Wexford coast; most are within 40 minutes drive.

    Enniscorthy hosts several annual festivals including the Wexford Strawberry Festival (June), Rocking Food Festival (August) and Blackstairs Blues Festival (September).

    As County Wexford was actively involved in the 1798 United Irishmen rebellion, there are many sites of note to explore in the county.

    Nearby is Wells House, a late 17th Century "Big House" which boasts a room still in it's original decor. The property often hosts an outdoor theater in the late summer.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We like to cook and bake, but don't have so much time these days and would love someone to help prepare meals a couple of days per week. We have a large garden which we find difficult to maintain with a toddler and baby. Help with light housework would also be necessary.

    Gillian is a stay-at-home mother and the children do not attend daycare, so we would love some help in this area, for example, taking Olivia for a walk in woods, playing outside with her, imaginative games, playing Lego or doing art activities. As Gillian is breastfeeding, for the comfort of all, a female workawayer would be our preference for the moment.

    Some dog-sitting might be required; Maisy is easy company and loves everyone. She's low maintenance, so it would just require topping up her food and water and a walk.

    As David's job is Monday - Friday, you would have the weekends and bank holidays off; an ideal opportunity to explore further afield than County Wexford.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    As David works for a French company, a better knowledge of French would help him with conversation with his French colleagues.

  • Accommodation


    We are located in a quiet rural area approximately 10 minutes from Enniscorthy, County Wexford (South East Ireland). Accommodation is a large bedroom complete with en-suite and closet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a non-smoking family and request that any Workawayer is also non-smoking.

    Prior to starting our family, we enjoyed travelling and would like to extend a warm welcome to anyone wishing to experience the beauty of our local area.

    We're relatively new to Workaway, although we hope to continue the same positive experience as we have had in the last few months.

    Public transport in Ireland outside of major cities is poor. Local public transport is practically non-existent, so access to your own car is a huge benefit if you wish to explore on your own terms. Otherwise, we can leave you to / collect from the closest bus stop / train station (Enniscorthy).

    We are approximately 30 minutes from Wexford town, 40 minutes from Curracloe beach and 90 minutes from Dublin.

    Our conversations with previous workawayers would highlight the cost of hostel stays; a bed in a shared dorm in a Dublin hostel may be as high as €100/night at weekends when booking at short notice. We recognise that Workaway is a great opportunity to explore this country on a budget, but we would recommend advance planning to avoid losing out on any experiences / opportunities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space to accomodate a "standard" campervan based on a van chassis.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 138178711676

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with gardening and natural construction in Galway, Ireland
Help with childminding in a beautiful West Cork location, Ireland