Help us bring life back to our new farm in Tolaga Bay, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Updated 23/09/2019
    We are coming into our busy time on the farm and looking for helpers :)
    We have baby animals to feed, plants to get in the ground and lawns and gardens to be maintained.
    We are also keen on someone to help with the kids and keep the house ticking along whilst we are busy on the farm if you love kids and cooking :)

    ABOUT US......

    We are a young family of four(4). Jono (Dad), Ella (Mum), Lachlan (4) & Patrick (2.5).
    We have 2 cats, a pet calf called raspberry and a pet lamb called speedy, 15 chickens, 15 pigs, 7 cute as piglets, 8 ducks (ducklings on the way), 10 dogs, 13 sheep, 13 baby lambs (so far) , LOTS of cows!

    We are busy people with a 170hectare farm and a forestry roading business.

    In April 2018 we brought our very first farm! Its needs a lot of love and attention as its in a very run down state. We are slowly making improvements as funds (and time!) allow us, showing it the love and respect it deserves.

    We are looking for help with day to day running of the farm, getting the farm in working order, looking after the kids, maintaining the homestead(s) and just having others around as we enjoy the company and learning new things.

    Tolaga Bay is a small seaside community with approx. 1200 residents. We have all the basic amenities, a shop, petrol station, school and police,ambulance and fire service. We have the longest wharf in the southern hemisphere and a foodtruck that does the.best.coffee.ever!

    When we are not on the farm or forestry, we are spending quality time together as a family hunting wild pigs and deer and seeing friends. We would love to immerse you in our culture and day to day life so if any of these interest you please let us know! we would love to show you what living the kiwi lifestyle is all about.

    In return for free board, food, internet etc we expect approx. 4 hours a day or 20 hours a week (done when you like over the 5 days) Sorry we cannot provide any paid work at this time.

    We are 70km from Gisborne so your own transport is needed. No public transport is available.

    We have WIFI and cellphone reception for 2degrees customers only. You are very welcome to use our WIFI, and laundry if need be.

    We have a huge emphasis on "whats ours is yours" and want you to feel as comfortable as possible, like you're in your own home :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are avid hunters for wild animals. We have a huge emphasis on living off the land. The East coast of NZ is a very untouched part of our beautiful country. We are happy to share this 'off the beaten track' with anyone interested.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help on and around the farm, entertaining the boys, running errands, basic cleaning and gardening

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Basic maori

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Fully furnished house with cooking facilities

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We encourage you to explore our beautiful backyard.
    We are very flexible and will gladly see you prioritising going off for a walk on a nice day over chores. Theres always time for jobs another day.

    We reccomend stays longer than 1 week so we can get to know eachother and both gain the best out of the experience.

    We encourage anyone interested in staying with us to get in touch! as we live busy lives we do prefer last minute bookings. Nothing over 2 weeks in advance. This ensures we are commited to your stay and not busy with other commitments.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Fresh batch of daily farm eggs
We often go hunting together
This is honey. Shes nolonger this small and takes up the whole couch!!!
This is polly we found as a piglet in the wild
We love to hunt what we eat
Jono and lachie checking out the weaner cows
Lovely winters day at willowbank farm
Previous workawayers
Lovely sunset
Look down on the shed and houses
Leo caught his first pig with us and cooked us a brazillian bbq for tea!
Previous workawayers with the kids and a orphan lamb they raised
Tolaga Bay wharf 660m long
Jono and friends on a hunt with ziggy the dog








Host ref number: 668178942657