Help at our house and farm in Garrotxa, Catalunya, Spain



Favourited 106 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are Joan and Judith, a Catalan/Scottish couple living in Garrotxa, Catalunya. Our home is a 15th century farmhouse with 13 hectares of land (8 hectares of woodland and 5 hectares of pasture) that has been in Joan´s family for over 100 years. We have four horses, one dog, two cats and 12 chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Garrotxa is a beautiful area that is not particularly well-known. There is an incredibly interesting history and culture. And the people are one of a kind! We have the volcanic natural park as well as the area of Alta Garrotxa. There are the historic towns of Santa Pau, Besalu and Castellfollit de la Roca.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for volunteers to help us with a range of tasks around the house and farm. We always have tasks in our organic vegetable garden and clearing and bringing into use areas of woodland and fields that need attention. This year, we are also focusing on renovating an old outhouse into a bigger and safer henhouse. We would also like to freshen up and paint inside the house - some help to do if the weather isn't so good. We can offer accommodation and meals to a single person or a couple. We have a double bedroom, including wi-fi.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Double bedroom, shared bathroom, central heating and use of kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We recommend that you have a car but if not we can pick you up from the bus station in Olot. The area has some well-marked hiking trails. There are routes that can take you to the volcanic area as well as Alta Garrotxa. It really is a beautiful area.
    We have had some volunteers staying with us before and they have really enjoyed their experience - in fact they have returned for a second stay. We ask that volunteers help us for maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days per week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 665629563776