Have fun and learn about sustainable living with us in beautiful Catalunya, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 155 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    61.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody and welcome! This is, essentially, a place for experimenting, learning and getting confident with sustainable living. WHILE HAVING FUN!

    I studied Sustainable Horticulture and Permaculture in Ireland, where I found a strong passion and love for self sufficiency in all its aspects (with emphasis in Forest Gardening).
    Now we are here designing and implementing Forest Gardens, building little huts in the forest, taking care of the vegetable garden, taking care of our begginers tree nursery, grafting, thinking about expanding the project with maybe a few animals, a graywater filtration system for water management, maybe starting to cultivate some cereal, making medicinal gardens...
    Actually, there are SO MANY THINGS we want to do that we thought: which better way to share our passion and knowledge while making the load of this big project lighter and at the same time geting to meet people and have a good time, than inviting volunteers to join in on the fun? And so here we are ;)

    Long story short: we are interested in learning and working towards a self sufficient life and any input towards that is welcome here, the one condition being good old open-minded and friendly vibes. :D

    Warning: we might be rather eccentric at times ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural european family speaking Catalan, English, Spanish and French as our joint mother tounges.

    We are a very artistic family: my parents run a residential summer physical theatre school in the farm house and also work in film making (mostly documentaries). They love to share with people and are very welcoming.

    We are also very interested in puppeteering, music! and dance! I am half active in the slow creation of "La orchestra del Diablo", a musical project based on being many people and having a ton of fun, open to playing a bit of everything (personally I am quite into traditional chants from around the world, in lost languages, poliphonic singing and body percussion. I love to dance and would love to make people dance too!)

    Our place is close to the city of Vic, in the heart of interior Catalunya. We live in a strongly Catalan area which, specially given the present political situation, is a very good oportunity for learning about peoples feelings and reasons for their ideals and cultural identities. Interesting conversations with locals in a welcoming and very respectful environment.

    Depending on the time of the year certain Catalan traditions may be celebrated and food eaten. If so and you are interested, we would be happy to share these traditions with you. If not we can just stay home, make a cozy campfire and have as much fun! :p

    We also participate in a people-run circus center in Vic in which there are facilties for climbing, circus practices (duh), making music, playing ping pong and having a laugh! :p

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for some volunteers for June! Work to do, in order of priority;

    1. Building an outdoors space for a caravan and restoring it from the inside.
    2. Setting up for a festival that happens on the 20th of June (habilitating the various spaces, cooking, making signs...).
    3. General maintenance of veggie garden, forest garden and tree nursery.
    4. Maybe building a chicken house and compost toilet! And any other things that pop up (they always seem to appear out of no-where).

    The main project though is the caravan, it will require using carpentry tools and so on so if you know how to use such tools and have experience with wood construction, better!

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a big farmhouse with many rooms with beds and toilets or the possibility of camping. It is not 100% sure yet if the house would be available...

    Food will be provided but not necessarily cooked for you. As it is a very communal place we will decide all together what to buy, if necessary, with a given budget x person x week. We recycle as much food as possible (through local markets and supermarkets that throw away loads of good food) so you should definitely expect that we will be doing that. If you feel very uncomfortable with this, let us know and we'll think about how we can adapt to guarantee everyone's wellbeing.
    Of course you can always bring your food if you want snacks and so on.

    The cooking aspect will also be decided together, whoever feels like cooking may do and whoever doesn't want to cook is not obliged.


    COVID-19: My grandparents live in a house next door and we share the garden so you would probably see them in the outdoors, still we urge you to keep a distance and where a mask in their presence (as we do with them also).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 7km away from the nearest town, up a dirt road. The only transport we can offer is picking you up from Vic and dropping you off back there at the end of your stay. So please bear in mind that if you would like to visit the city regularly, you can either bike or walk there or take a lift if anyone from the house is going down. We don't go down very often so don't expect us to drive you there whenever you want. But when we do you are welcome to take a lift with us.

    The small city of Vic is rather friendly and beautiful if cities are your thing.
    The city of Barcelona is 40min away by car/bus or about 1h by train (R3). The city of Girona is about 1h by car/bus. If you preffer hitchhiking let us know and we'll give you tips as to how to get here.

    If you are more into nature, the whole plane of Vic is surrounded with mountains where you can find beautiful rivers and cascades, wonderous walks over the mist, rocks to climb up, lakes, forest...
    We also have the Pyrenees at about 1h 30min by car/train (R3) and the Costa Brava at aprox. 1h 30min by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Minimun 2 hours a day, 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 664849161438