1 / 4

Language exchange and some comradeship in Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My wife died about a year ago. Now that I am Alone I often wished that I had company to share a meal in the evening and to compare notes about how our day has gone. I have been studying Spanish for the past 150 days on Duolingo and would enjoy visitors who were fluent in Spanish. They would need some English since I have not had experience doing conversational Spanish. I am a retired engineer and have had a relaxation massage business since 2005. I also do energy healing work including Rieke and healing touch.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are many opportunities to do volunteer work which bring people together. I volunteer at a cat welfare place and am struck by how loving and thoughtful my fellow volunteers are. The Freedom center is about the history of the Black population and how they dealt with racial discrimination-it is considered one of the best museums in the USA. The Contemporary Arts Center has fascinating and unusual exhibits: some are interactive especially for children.
    The Museum Center is unique. The Cincinnati Art Museum has great shows. There is a multicultural dance center in town which does modern dance and offers classes. The Cincinnati Zoo is quite special.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I enjoy meeting new people, and would consider having someone stay to help me practice my Spanish. I like having people around to talk to, so having meals together would also be good.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in learning Spanish. I have been studying it using Duolingo.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This is a single family home in a quiet and nice area of Cincinnati. The workawayer would be staying in the furnished attic which has air conditioning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are bus routes not far from the house. You can get to downtown Cincinnati from here. It’s not super convenient but it’s doable.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 661881711537

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help with gardening , greenhouse, building farm structures goats & chickens on our homestead in Sagle, Idaho, USA
Help us on our small hobby farm in the Smoky Mountains, Tennessee, USA