Come and help us on our Vineyard, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 100 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 32 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family of 4 who live on a small vineyard in the Waitaki Valley, about 45 mins drive inland from Oamaru. We grow Pinot Gris, Riesling and Pinot Noir on our 4 ha block, and are surrounded by farmland, other vineyards and mountains. Its a very quiet peaceful spot with nice scenery. The small town of Kurow is a 10 min drive away, which has a grocery shop, garage etc. There are many lakes and rivers nearby, and Mt Cook/Tekapo about 1.5 hours drive.
    We look after our vineyard in our spare time (Tim works at another vineyard during the week) so life is busy with our two kids, Bessie, who is 10, and Lulu, 8. We are trying to move away from using sprays in the vineyard so this requires a lot of work sometimes!
    We live in an older house that was moved here a few years ago, and is off the grid. (solar powered) We all like music, art, cooking, gardening, being outdoors, relaxing and of course wine. We also have two (mostly) friendly cats.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be staying with our family so will be able to learn about typical life here in the country, off the grid. Also you will learn about viticulture in NZ and wine if you are interested. We have travelled ourselves and will enjoy learning all about your country, food etc. A short drive away are some Maori rock drawings, and some ancient fossils you can visit.

  • Help


    At the moment we need 1 or 2 people who can do building/renovating projects, experience preferred!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in a self contained sleep out seperate to our house. It is spacious, a little bit rustic but comfortable, with own bathroom, queen bed and small kitchen. Dinner will be in our house, breakfast and lunch you could have either with us or in your accomodation-though we'll provide it either way. We are non vegetarian. If you are vegetarian, we could work around it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport to our area unfortunately so you will need your own transport here and away. In your spare time you could visit Oamaru or go swimming and picnicking at nearby lakes and rivers-we'll show you our favourite swimming spots!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day

Host ref number: 661131957481