Looking for some help in our yard and and garden and discover the fantastic San Fransisco bay area, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 99 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE:

    Please note that the accommodations we can offer are a couch or air mattress in our living room.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



    Bart and I are a fun and friendly couple who enjoying meeting people from all over and welcoming them to the SF bay area.

    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ We do have cats. Please note this. You must be okay with cats. *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️

    Any request to us MUST include a comment that you are okay with cats. That you recognize we have cats.

    Any request without this will be rejected.

    ~~~~~~~~

    We live in a modest 3 BR, 2 bath home in Silicon Valley. We are within walking distance of the new Apple Town Center.

    We enjoy gardening, playing games, socializing, BBQ with friends and playing bridge.

    When not helping us out, we'd be happy to show you the Bay Area from SF and Muir Woods to south to Monterey, Point Lobos and Big Sur. We can take you around or provide info so you can get around on your own. There is so much to see and do here from the shore, wine country, redwoods, Stanford, Cal and more.

    When at home we enjoy playing board games and hope you would join us for some fun. Show us your cooking and enjoy our cooking.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The SF Bay Area is a diverse area with many cultural events and places to see. From nature to major universities and the wonderful city of San Francisco.

    There are Japanese gardens, Chinatown in SF, artichoke fields and we could go strawberry picking on the coast.

    We are happy to discuss local to national issues impacting our region and country.

  • Help

    Help

    We would very much like help with our yard and garden. Weeding, clipping, sweeping, planting and transplanting, lugging soil, stacking pots, watering and more. I start many plants from seeds and would use your help planting seeds and then transplanting the plants. Frequently I offer extra plants and plant starts to my neighbors via social media. You could help me keep track and hand out plants.

    Inside we can use help with dusting, vacuuming, sorting and more.

    We enjoy trying new and different foods. We are also happy to provide you a recipe we enjoy and have you make it.

    We would so appreciate helping us with painting our inside rooms. Every room needs painting although we wouldn't expect you to pain every room yourself. :) Please let us know if you have any experience with interior painting and if you are willing to help us with this. Color consultations a plus. (This would only be for stays of 10+ days. Painting is time consuming.)

    Note: If we are hosting a couple, we'd like both couples to participate in the daily chores, or at least the combined hours would be met in total.

    So far, my best experiences were when our WAer helped from 9 to 3 with a short lunch break or, if cooking dinner, some hours 9 to 12noon and again from 5 to 7pm. These are approximate and we are very flexible.

    Also, you may "bunch" your hours on two days in order to explore on the 3rd day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would stay in our guest bedroom with a double futon bed. There is closet and dressers for your use.

    Your bathroom used only by you (and guests to our home) is down the hall.

    During your stay you would have access to wifi, laundry, the kitchen and yard.

    We welcome you to join us in our meals and food. Breakfast and lunch may be on your own with our food -- cereal, eggs, sandwiches, etc. Hopefully our evening meal will be a shared one. Unless you are out exploring.

    When we go on excursions, we share the cost of meals and beverages.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    NOTE: Due to current issues with US Customs, we are only engaging with requests if you are already in the USA. We hope this changes.

    Right now our work, schedule and home situation are best suited if you are 22 years of age and older.

    Cats. Cats. Cats. We have cats.

    There are so many great things to see and do here. The new Apple Town Center is within walking distance of our home.

    San Francisco has much to explore from sea lions at Pier 39 to many museums including the Exploratorium. We would help you find interesting sites to see and places to visit based on your interests.

    Public transportation around here is lacking. We'd help you find what there is. And we can help with transport to the CalTrain station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 656579362552