Rural living in Northern California Redwood Country, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 63 year old women that lives with my family on a 110 acre ranch in the redwood forests of Mendocino County near the small town of Willits.
    I bought my property while in my 20's in 1981 and raised my two kids here.
    My daughter lives on the east side of town with her husband and two kids and my son, his wife and two kids live on my property with me.
    I am off the grid with my home being powered by solar and a generator.
    My property is located 6 miles out a dirt and gravel road which provides a quiet and private experience.
    My home is fully equipped for comfortable living with internet, cable TV, washer/dryer and full kitchen and bath.
    I have 2 large vegetable gardens and a variety of ornamental all grown organically.
    I am a certified Massage Therapist, bookkeeper and manage two vacation rentals for my income and I have spent my adult life loving and maintaining and nurturing this wonderful piece of property.

    My interests are family, organic gardening, travel, natural medicine and health, sharing my life with animals, nature and science,
    I am easygoing and curious of the wonders of the world and its inhabitants.
    I share my space with 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 Nigerian goats and 2 old blind horses.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity for someone to experience the beautiful redwood forest in quiet and privacy.
    You would be able to see two different "back to the land" lifestyles - both mine in a historic home (built in 1915) and my Sons who built a Cobb home by hand for him and his family.
    It would allow you the opportunity to spend time in a rural environment in an off the grid lifestyle. This includes dirt roads, outdoor shower, dark nights, possible creatures (bear, mt lion, fox, bats, racoons, snakes and more - yes this is a wild forest!)
    Anyone staying with us needs to be comfortable with this, be friendly and fun loving, love nature and animals, and be open to a fun experience.
    I would love to share this space and lifestyle with someone interested in learning about or experiencing this beautiful way to live.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a never ending list of projects in mind:

    1. Because of several years of wildfires I am interested in doing some fire suppression. This would include the removal of brush, small trees and leaf litter from the 100' of defensible space recommended by the fire agencies. This project would require the use of a small chainsaw, clippers, rakes and shovels.

    2. Having lived on my property for almost 40 years some early projects are now in need of readdressing. One of these is the pen for my 2 old horses which are partially blind. This project would include putting in new posts and attaching the wire for the new fencing.

    3. Reestablishing old mature gardens both decorative and vegetable. Alot of my decorative plantings are 80 years old! I need help reviving them to their glory. This would include reestablishing drip lines, laying landscape fabric if needed, pruning of plants, and using natural rock for borders and walls.

    4. Cutting and storing of firewood which is my only heat for the winter.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Parking spot for your fully contained camper or motor home with water available
    or:
    Camping in your own space right down the road from my home.
    Supplied with a solar shower, small stove for simple cooking, ice chest, lanterns and dishes
    Camp site has a matted surface - not on dirt
    Sink set up with running spring water
    2 room tent with air mattress sheets, blankets and pillows (or use your own sleeping bag)
    porta pottie

    Workawayers will be responsible for their own cooking and meals except for 2 communal dinners a week which I will provide.I will supply weekly food basics
    I have been a vegetarian for 40 years but am not militant. I just dont want to buy it, cook it or clean up after it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Willits is a small but vibrant town. We have an active Art Center, County Museum, Skunk Train Railroad,a large steam engine group with displays, a movie theatre, and enough shopping to supply basic needs.
    It is close to great hiking, rivers, Northern California Wine Country, 2.5 hours to San Francisco and an hour to the beautiful Mendocino coast.
    It has a rich history of farming, ranching, lumbering, steam equipment, pioneering and a vibrant back to the land movement.
    We have great hiking and naturally beautiful spots to explore.
    Because we live 6 miles out of town having your own transportation is a good idea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

60 year old lilac restoration project
Camp site
Forest meadow
This is us
Redwoods
Winter water
Host ref number: 656352416543