Help with daily life and children in Gryon, Switzerland



Favourited 1648 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We run a hostel in a small mountain village in the Swiss Alps. Myself (Merlin) and my wife (Gemma) have been here in Gryon, Switzerland for more than 5 years, managing and growing our backpackers hostel. We first arrived for a six month climbing trip and couldn't leave.

    Our hostel is in an authentic Swiss Chalet and has both private and dormitory rooms along with many common areas to accommodate our guests. Many people stay here because of our close proximity to all of the mountain activities. During the winter months there is skiing/snowboarding at a nearby resort and during the summer there is hiking, climbing and mountain biking. We love and participate in nearly all of the activities the Swiss Alps have to offer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have extensive knowledge of the area, so we can offer our knowledge of the area to improve your stay.

  • Help


    Our hostel is a pretty relaxed backpackers hostel. Our guests are usually a mix outdoor enthusiasts, individuals traveling Europe, small groups and families. It is a pretty chill place. We are not a party hostel and the mountains are more of a draw to our guests than the city/nightlife scene.

    The chalet is beautiful old house that needs a lot of upkeep, your job will be keeping the kids occupied while we do the work in the Chalet ,We expect a few hours help per day and for you to enjoy your time here. The projects vary from day to day and season to season. However The majority of the tasks will be helping us out with the children 4 and 6 yrs and helping in the garden. We have a small veggie patch that is in need of constant weeding and we have a few projects on over the summer including building a new deck.

    We will do our very best to help you have a great stay here, and really do appreciate hard work!

    Please note, we normally do not include food in your time with us. We do adjust the workload accordingly and you do have access to a fully equipped kitchen with nearby grocery stores.

    We limit our volunteers from 1-2 week periods at a time with 2 days off per week. Please include your arrival date and departure date when reaching out to us so we can more easily check our calendars.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will stay in the hostel in either a shared dorm or a semi-private room. You'll have access to shared facilities including showers, laundry, kitchen and dining.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From the hostel you can hike, climb, cycle, walk, run, swim, chill, meet other people and much more. We like to do all these things on a daily basis so come along and enjoy Swiss life without Swiss cost!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 655393179694