We are a busy family with lots going on and we would like to involve you in every aspect in rural Shropshire - UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a small holding in a glorious pocket of rural Shropshire surrounded by farmland. We have a few sheep, chicken and some pigs (sometimes) plus a few acres of land and farm buildings. We would be happy to have one or two visitors. There is a small comfortable room in the house with a shared bathroom with our 2 children.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a busy family with lots going on and we would like to involve you in every aspect. Hopefully you will get an insight into English family life in the countryside.

  • Help

    Help

    We will have some gardening work for you, I will have an area of the graden which I am trying to develop and will need your help, it will be quite heavy work with lots of digging! Otherwise duties will include general domestic help and walking two dogs each day. It is also really helpful to us if you are outgoing and like children/teenagers! as getting on and hanging out with our two children aged 13 and 11 is an important part of the cultural exchange. They can provide hours of English practice if need be. This means that your work will include walking the dog and some gardening and a bit of hanging out with the children in the evenings.
    We hope to have a few workaways throughout the Spring/Summer and there will be a mixture of projects including gardening, painting and there is always tidying up.
    We would also need you to tend the animals if we are out for the day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish and a little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom upstairs with shared bathroom with the children or if you would like a bit more privacy we could put our bell tent up in the garden with a decent mattress for you.
    We would include you with our family meals, breakfast,lunch and supper.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to do in the area, although it is countryside we are only 3 miles away from Ironbridge, considered the birthplace of Industry and a Unesco World Heritage site. Cosford Air Museum is also a few miles away. Telford is also very close, a modern town with facilities such as ice skating, cinemas, bowling and shops. Shrewsbury is also worth a visit. We have a bike which you can borrow, but otherwise you would be dependent on us or taxis as there is no public transport. We are happy to drop you off ad pick you up locally if we can. We can drop you off at a train station if you want to go and explore at weekends.
    Generally I prefer that the work is done in the mornings and then you are free, it an be quite isolating as you will have a lot of time by yourself during the afternoons particularly when the children are at school.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 654573479927