Play with our puppies, learn about gardening and enjoy the countryside near Ampleforth, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 1906 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    752

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a C16th farmhouse in a beautiful area in North Yorkshire. On the edge of the North York Moors National Park . The area is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

    We like to hear what you would do in your country, and how you do things different from us - so making it a cultural exchange ad an exchange that you can benefit from by learning about cultivation in the garden .

    We have a country garden which attracts a lot of wild birds so you may like to bring your camera and a log to have a record of what you see during your stay So anyone wishing to have garden experience is most welcome our garden will love them .

    We have puppies so would like someone who loves them and not just like them and will play with them and socialise them before they go to their new homes. Sometimes we keep some too ..

    We are happy to host and welcome ONE PERSON at a time, so pleased whatever your circumstances we do not wish to accommodate 2 people so please don't ask. Someone who is happy to fit in and experience rural life .

    We have 4+ beehives so anyone with knowledge or interested are most welcome.

    Grandad lives in the main farmhouse and has a garden both vegetables and flowers , He is 99 active and a world of information. We can all teach you about seeds, plants and how we make use of our vegetables.

    Our families have lived here for over 120 years. We have fruit orchards too.

    Non smokers /drugs and no heavy/problem drinkers. People with their own initiative.

    Please understand it can be very cold and wetter than on the continent.

    Good understanding of the English language please.

    We welcome you to chat with us on Skype to go into any questions that you/us may want to ask.

    HELPERS -PLEASE BRING YOUR OWN WELLINGTONS

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the countryside - Nature is surrounding us and you can see the seasons change during your stay. You may even pick up some of the local dialect. You will be able to see some many little birds in our garden and we have a book so you will be able to identify them. Grandad will be able to teach you how to identify them by their bird song. We can explain a bees life to you and you can see it first hand. The dogs have a lot of love to give. As an experienced cook Anna will introduce you to local dishes including Yorkshire puddings.

  • Help

    Help

    Garden, take experience from us and be willing to learn.
    Help socialising puppies if we have any
    We have bees

    Picking fruit and vegetables when in season. and then eating it

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 4 poster ensuite room with own TV in the main house. This is a room iis of a high standard and we ask you to be respectful of this .
    We live on a bus route which comes by the bottom of our drive 3 times a day except Sundays
    We have dogs and a cat so please no one who is frightened of them or allergic to them

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have dogs and a cat so we ask for people who are not allergic to these.

    The exchange we offer is for someone who is healthy in body and mind

    We live in a rural area so would suit only those looking to be in the countryside.

    We can not accommodate smokers ,heavy/problem drinkers and will not tolerate drugs.

    We are meat eaters and are not able to cope with vegan diets or picky eaters

    Thank you

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have free wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 400 acres of land so I am sure the helper will find somewhere that will be suitable for them to park

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)
























Host ref number: 653576752589