Volunteer in an organic vineyard in the Cahors Region of South-West France

Country

France

Favourited 543 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    News Flash!
    I am currently looking for someone to stay for a longer term visit. At least a month, preferably a lot longer! Either one person to live in the house and help with housework, cooking and child care, or a couple, to live in the mobile home, where the partner helps with maintenance and repairs.
    I also need a builder, roofer, rock waller, electrician, plumber, someone who's ace at paperwork and anyone with technical winery experience. These can be shorter term, but preferably at least two weeks. Super organisers, lifestyle coaches and yoga teachers are also on my current wish list!!

    I am currently trying to save an organic vineyard and run down farm in the Cahors region of the idyllic Lot valley.
    Originally from the UK, I left the rat race for a dream life nearly 13 years ago, optimistically buying a project with lots of potential! I have now come to the conclusion that I have ”bitten off more than I can chew” and need some major help!
    Aside from running the vineyard, I am renovating and extending the ancient, but very run down stone farmhouse and winery buildings and growing our own fruit and veg (not to mention housework, family stuff, animal care and the dreaded paperwork)!
    We are a very busy, active family with lots of noise, mess, kids animals and visitors!
    Our location is stunningly beautiful, a joy for those looking for beauty and tranquility, and perfectly placed for those seeking adventure, history, sports, or culture. The Lot has pretty much everything and we love it here.
    WE SPEAK ENGLISH in the home, unless we have French guests. So if you are coming to France to improve your French, we may not be your best choice!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a hard working, flexible, physically capable and easy going couple, or two friends, who can help us out with jobs in the organic vines/vegetable garden/ orchard, in the organic winery, with building/renovation projects/general maintenance.
    Projects for next year, include finishing the pigeonnier, rock walling, plastering, moving the vegetable garden and creating raised beds, and of course all the usual vine/winery work and other jobs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We ask each volunteer to work for 5 hours, 5 days a week, in return for accommodation in our fully equipped mobile home (no tv or computer though!) and simple meals (some self catering).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 5km from the picturesque, medieval town of Puy l’Eveque, on the beautiful Lot river (swimming/canoeing/boat trips) and 5kms from the bustling market town of Prayssac. If you drive and can come in your own car, that would be useful, if not, we can lend you bicycles to explore the area. By car, Cahors (medieval city) 30 minutes, Fumel (Chateau de Bonaguil) 20 mins, Toulouse 2 hours, Bordeaux 2 hours. The Lot and the Dordogne are packed with a huge variety of touristic, historical and geological attractions.
    This area has plenty of events, of all kinds, but it is not somewhere to go if you want to go clubbing and wild partying!
    Smoking outdoors only.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 Hours, 5 days a week.

Some of the organic malbec vines.




Host ref number: 652446928576