Gardening, community projects and home maintenance in the beautiful Bitterroot Valley, Montana, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 167 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    338

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the beautiful Bitterroot Valley of Montana with the sun rising over the Sapphire Mountain Range and setting over the majestic Bitterroot Range. Our location is quiet, mostly surrounded by agriculture, yet close to basic things like post office, bank, and groceries.

    The Bitterroot river is nearby and is a prime spot for rafting, kayaking, fishing, swimming and simply sitting to soak in the beauty of this area . Numerous trail heads are close by for those who enjoy hiking, and mountain lakes are abundant for those who want to backpack in for a couple of days.

    We have a large yard with many plants and flowers, a small water feature, a small vegetable garden, and an adjacent waterway. For those times when we wish for the things a larger city offers, we drive 40 miles north to Missoula where one can find various ethnic restaurants, interesting shops, and various cultural events.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both have some cross-cultural experience from living abroad for a few years, and we love connecting with other people from other parts of the country and world. We both speak French, (though not very well). We host a variety of group gatherings at our house, so visitors will meet not only us but other folks as well.

    We enjoy and prepare a wide variety food, we love good conversations and learning new things. We play a variety of board games, as well as enjoy hiking and biking. Tanya is a teacher and John a Civil Engineer. We have four grown children who come home occasionally for a visit. We have an older golden retriever dog, and one outdoor cat. Throughout the summer we have a variety of guests and travelers who stay with us for 1-3 days. These travelers include cross-country cyclists, friends, relatives, and travelers of various sorts.

    We enjoy being able to provide a place of respite, reflection, and healing, and hopefully some fun. :-)

  • Help

    Help

    This year we would like help with plantings of trees and shrubs. There is always work with the yard and garden as well: mowing, edging and trimming, weeding, and watering. Cleaning work is also ever-present: bathrooms, floors, deep cleaning in the kitchen, washing windows, sweeping outdoor decks. A few maintenance items may include indoor painting of walls, and possibly painting a floor, painting a deck, gathering and disposing of unused items, etc. On occasion, help with cooking if you enjoy it.

    In addition, depending on when you come, we may be in the midst of helping some elderly folks or other organization in the community, and would like to have extra hands for work helping others in their yards/houses. Tanya enjoys art, landscaping, and minor yard/house "make-overs" , and so she may have projects going that someone could help with.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is full of large windows with great views from almost every one. The kitchen, dining and living area are all open to one another and are fairly large, and will be shared by the helper and ourselves. There is a cozy private bedroom for the helper, which is downstairs near the main entry and adjacent to the open "living spaces". The helper will have their "own" bathroom at night. (This is the only downstairs bathroom, so it is shared during the daytime and when we have additional guests). If there are two Workaway helpers, they will share this small bedroom.

    We use our dinner time as an opportunity to visit about the day, and enjoy a meal together. The dinner time varies, and can be as early as 5:00 PM or as late as 8:00, depending on our activities. The helper will always be invited (but not obligated) to join us for dinner. Breakfast and lunch are "on your own", but you are welcome to share the food we have on hand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Though we are only minimally skilled in music, we enjoy it very much and welcome singing and instrumentation. We have a piano, guitar, and mandolin available for use.

    Helpers may borrow a bicycle, and we are willing to help out with transportation if it can be coordinated with other driving we happen to be doing.

    Though we do not drink alcohol, we are not opposed if it is in moderation. Please no smoking and no drugs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our wifi connection is fairly stable, but definitely not the strongest and fastest in the world! A desk can be set up in the WorkAwayer's space.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space. :-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

One of our favorite walking paths.
Cozy WorkAwayer bedroom
Creative wood stacking might be one of our tasks.
View from our yard.
Nearby river trail.
Hiking in the area
Special friends with this WorkAwayer.
Gardening and light chores
The "before" picture of the flagstone path.
We enjoyed sharing wonderful meals with these workawayers.
Adjacent fields
Your hosts, John and Tanya
A few miles of hiking and you will find mountain lakes.
On nearby trails you will experience breathtaking beauty.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 651633821271