Organic farm-stay in Louisiana, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 160 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI travelers, a bit about us, our names are Brock and Ellie and are both passionate homesteaders. We've dedicated the past 12 years or so of our lives to the study of plants. Their propagation, cultivation, ecological functions, and preparation in the kitchen. The homestead is 12 years old with many hundreds of trees planted, a particular diversity of fruit trees, lots of edible perennials, fruiting vines, wild flowers, herbs, and much more. Basically my best attempt at the recreation of the garden of eden. Loving plants and taking care of them is a must here, of, about, for, cultivation of, study of, plants, plants, plants.

    I have hosted volunteers for many years and work traded on many sites around the world. We thoroughly enjoy the comings and goings of jolly travelers which enrich our lives with new ideas, artistic expressions, and shared meals full of vibrant conversation. We look forward to hosting you as a volunteer!

    *UPDATE
    Ellie and I are getting married on the farm in May of 2021 and we're looking to assemble a spring team of visitors to help us to prepare for the wedding. We especially want to polish the gardens and grow crazy amounts of flowers for all of our friends and family to enjoy! We're looking for a crew of about 4-6 jolly travelers from about March-May. It's also worth noting that we've got probably just shy of 100 mulberry trees and we're looking to harvest a small mountain of berries in preparation for the wedding as well. This would of course also mean that it'll be all you can eat mulberries starting in mid-late April.
    We're not necessarily looking for a 3 month commitment, 2 weeks-3 months are possible. If this sounds like fun to you please send us a message.

    Cheers,
    Brock+Ellie

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn about plants. I have many years experience working with plants, particularly in the style of permaculture. I have extensive knowledge of local plants, their cultivation and preparation in the kitchen. We also cultivate lots of mushrooms on logs, have many fruit trees, ponds, bees, and enjoy very much many ways of making food come from the earth.

  • Help

    Help

    A curiosity for plants is a must. General gardening includes: weeding, watering, harvesting, processing, pruning, etc. Also general community maintenance activities such as cooking, cleaning, organizing, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a cozy school bus converted into living quarters

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We welcome travelers interested in the surrounding culture and climate. The site is located in the "Heart of Acadiana" rich with cajun food, music, dancing, festivals, and the fun loving cajun culture. There are also many majestic swamps to kayak and hike through.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 651117465688