Diverse help on an old farm in the Cotswolds, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a couple in our 30's, recently moved on to a 10 acre smallholding in the Cotswolds, in a picturesque village brought to fame as the setting ti Laurie Lee's book "Cider with Rosie." Eddie is fine-art trained, more recently working with trees, timber and old buildings. Emma has worked on community development projects to do with indigenous peoples' rights, natural resources, women's empowerment, textiles and has recently been studying and working with medicinal herbs.

    We have a vision to build the farm into a holistic little ecosystem that can keep us relatively self-sufficient in fresh produce, accommodate visitors, create opportunities for people to connect with nature and the countryside. We’re seeking willing workawayers who can help us toward achieving these goals and probably influence and inspire us along the way.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We encourage applications from helpers with existing skills we can put to use right away. The fact that we are in the early stage of building our vision here means we also really value experience, insights, thoughts and ideas that others can bring. The diversity of jobs and tasks we do here means we can offer helpers the chance to gain new skills and there’s a real chance to be creative, innovative and take ownership over what you do.

    We have both travelled, worked and lived abroad, and worked with others in foreign languages, and now that we’ve put down roots here in England we welcome opportunities for cultural exchange that come to us!

  • Help

    Help

    We have an overwhelming and growing (!) to-do list but our immediate priorities include carpentry, stonework and building renovations to bring the farm outbuildings back to life, as well as landscape work, tree-related work and fencing. All of this alongside the daily and weekly chores involving the animals, vegetable garden and polytunnel.

    The way we work means we often work on parallel projects and we all chip in with a bit of everything where appropriate and seasonal, including domestic tasks, weeding, sowing, planting, harvesting, composting, looking after the animals and milking the goats.

    It is important that helpers have a reasonable level of fitness as much of our work is outside, involving manual labour and our land is on a steep sided hill!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer different kinds of accommodation depending on the time of year. For the summer - early autumn months we have a lovely spot beneath the beechwoods and with a beautiful valley view, where we can either situate a well equipped little caravan, or where helpers would be welcome to pitch their own tent or park their live in vehicle. We provide access to compost loo outside as well as a bathroom and hot shower inside the house.

    We both love to cook and to eat, and tend to cook wholesome, unprocessed foods using produce from our garden and other local farms wherever possible. We're not vegetarian but often cook vegetarian. Breakfast is more of a help-yourself affair, as we tend to have different schedules in the morning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers staying with us get the best of both worlds! We are lucky to be situated in an idyllic rural setting in the Cotswold Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, yet also just 15 minutes walk into the historic market and woollen mill town of Stroud. In normal times Stroud has a very active alternative/eco-living and arts scene, as well as a lively farmer’s market every Saturday - this is set to re-open in June 2020, and if/when restrictions lift - a couple of great pubs with live music each night. The town is well connected by bus and train, so getting to London, the North, Wales and the South West is all easy for helpers without their own transport. On the other hand, having a car, bike or a strong pair of walking legs is great for exploring the surrounding countryside and traditional old country pubs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 647296244778