Help us in our 300 year old house in Wallonia, Belgium



Favourited 224 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    Our house is located in the countryside of one of the most beautiful villages of Wallonia, on "Plateau de Herve" in the center of a triangle formed by the cities of Liège (Belgium) - Aachen (Germany) - Maastricht (Netherlands)
    The house is over 300 years old and all the time need a screwdriver to turn to one side, a hammer or a brush... For the moment, essentially the garden yells at help! It has been neglected for a few years because we're expats and only occasionally in Belgium.

    Notre maison est située dans la campagne d'un des plus beaux villages de Wallonie, sur le plateau de Herve, au centre du triangle formé par les villes de Liège (Belgique) – Aachen (Allemagne) – Maastricht (Pays-Bas)
    La maison a plus de 400 ans et a tout le temps besoin d’un petit tour de tournevis d’un côté, d’un coup de pinceau de l’autre… Pour le moment, c’est essentiellement le jardin qui crie à l’aide ! Il a été négligé pendant quelques années car nous sommes expatriés et ne sommes qu’occasionnellement en Belgique.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You want to improve French language ? Join us !
    You are planning to visit Liege, Maastricht, Aachen the wonderful countryside ? Join us !
    You want cooking belgian specialities but also internationals's (Thaï, Indian,...) ? ? Join us !

    Vous voulez visiter Liège, Maastricht, Aix-la-Chapelle ou la magnifique campagne du Pays de Herve ? Rejoignez-nous !
    Vous voulez cuisiner les spécialités belges mais aussi internationales (Thaï, indiennes,...) ? Rejoignez-nous !

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for 2 enthusiasts gardeners able to manage saw, spade and other tools, who will be delighted ;-) to participate :
    - Pruning
    - Uprooting and replanting of some shrubs
    - Landscaping (flowerbeds, lawn, swimming pool perimeter)
    - Protecting electrical fence for the poultry against the foxes
    For those who do not have a green thumb, but are very good yourselfers:
    - Painting woodwork, walls
    - Finish the garden hut
    - ...
    On arrival, we’ll ask you copy of your passport with entry visa, a responsible contact in case of emergency, copy of a medical and hospitalisation insurance valid during your stay

    Nous cherchons 2 enthousiastes de jardinage. Capable de maîtriser une scie, bêche ou autres outils, ils seront ravis ;-) de participer à :
    - Elagage
    - Arrachage et replantation de certains arbustes
    - Aménagement paysager (parterres, pelouse, pourtour piscine
    - Clôture électrique de protection des poules contre les renards.
    Pour ceux qui n’ont pas la main verte mais sont de très bons bricoleurs :
    - Peinture des boiseries, mRs
    - Terminer une cabane de jardin
    - …
    A votre arrivée, nous vous demandrons une copie de votre passeport avec le visa d’entrée, un contact responsable à appeler en cas d’urgence, une copie d’une assurance médicale et hospitalisation valable durant votre séjour

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Chambre personnelle avec salle de bain pour 2 personnes
    Private room with bathroom for 2

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our region is green and offers long bike rides either along small paths or along the line 38 (former railway line connecting Liège to Germany).
    We are approximately 20 km from the Fens but also Liège, Aachen and Maastricht, 3 cities with a well-known history, full of museums, but also places of entertainment, restaurants, ...
    We have a swimming pool where, during those hot days ... that Belgium has from time to time, you relax. The one-hectare garden is also a friendly place to enjoy a glass of cider (Aubel and Thimister specialty), eating cheese "Fromage de Herve" (Herve specialty) or bread with "Sirop de Liège" (syrup - Aubel specialty )

    Notre région est verdoyante et permet de longues ballades à vélo soit le long des petits chemins, soit en suivant la ligne 38 (ancienne ligne de chemin de fer reliant Liège à l’Allemagne).
    Nous sommes à 20 km environ des Fagnes mais aussi de Liège, Aachen et Maastricht, 3 villes à l’histoire bien connue, qui regorgent de musées mais aussi de lieux de détente, restaurants,…
    Nous avons une piscine qui, lors des journées torrides que la Belgique connaît… de temps en temps, vous détendra. Le jardin d’un hectare est aussi un lieu convivial où siroter un verre de cidre (spécialité d’Aubel et Thimister), manger du fromage de Herve (spécialité de Herve) ou une tartine de sirop (spécialité d’Aubel)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day or 1 day work/ 1 day free - 5 heures/jour ou 1 jour travaillé/1 jour libre

Host ref number: 646646455133