Come to Angouleme and help us with our land and horses, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Fluent French helpful. Horse handling skills helpful. Assisting with daily activities including poo picking and garden tasks, plus assisting with thermal imaging project. ***

    We are an anglo-belgian couple retired to France with our 2 horses, 1 shetland pony, 2 french rescue dogs and chickens. We are active in the local community and there are often events or meals to attend where French is freely spoken. Horses are a big part of our lives.

    We live in the French countryside, we live in a rural agricultural area with a farm just next door, having your own transport or the ability to live out of town is therefore essential, but we can pick you up from Angouleme or Chalais train station or Bordeaux airport if required. We are quiet people who enjoy good food, have a comprehensive vegetable garden and make our own bread and beer.

    The horses are used for schooling and Dressage, they are not suitable for novice riders so riding is only available on a supervised basis. We are interested in Dressage, Ride with Your Mind, Biomechanics, Awareness through movement and Natural horsemanship. No horse experience is necessary to be a helper.

    Our daughter lives with us part time and helps to exercise the horses.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunity to practise French or English language skills, lots to learn about horse care.
    There may be the opportunity to have a rider biomechanics lesson or learn about this during your stay if our daughter is with us at the time.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always lots to do, current possible projects include: painting fences, field shelters and gates. We would like to take on helpers to help and participate with everyday life, possible jobs include: helping with the horses as a groom (mucking out and poo picking daily, feeding, tacking up, taking them out to fields, grooming, fencing), cooking and gardening.

    The allocation of help depends on your abilities and skills and the time of year - less gardening in the winter for example.

    We are looking for responsible, independent helpers, who have good communication skills, don't mind a bit of tv, have a healthy dose of common sense and like animals.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    We speak English, French and Flemish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in our house as part of the family and participate in daily life. Afternoons are generally free as we try and do work in the mornings. Unfortunately it is not possible for you to bring your animals with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Quiet, peaceful location, ideal situation if you like walking, cycling (bikes available) or reading. There are often community meals or events which you are invited to attend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 644222576365