Help journalist cultivating an ecological garden, build things out of wood, help renovating flat and attic...

Country

Germany

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 31 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    !!! If you send me a request, please include hints which show that you have gone through my profile. Please write me a personal message, address me by my name (if you find it:-)) and write which kind of work you are interested in. Please mention what you think you are good in doing, what you would like to do and what you think is not that kind of work you would like to do. This would help both of us to find out whether it would fit or not. I am especially searching for creative, visionary craftspeople with mechanical skills. Thank you!

    I am a 32 years old freelance journalist and single mother of an almost four years old daughter, studied philosopher with moving life story trying to live an ecologically life, interested in politics as well as psychology and spirituality (yoga), the world and idealistic change-the-world-to-a-better-place-ideas, openminded, warmharted, trying to be a good host, experienced with couchsurfing as host and guest.

    Having moved house more than 25 times in the last 15 years I finally found my place to live and grow in the heart of Nürnberg: flat on the top of an old building from 1910 plus attic in which one day I want to build my dream flat using only ecological material. Close-by I have a small garden, which needs a lot of care after it was not cultivated the last year. With my flatmate (a young Indian girl) live near city center, but forest and nature are also not far. It is very quiet and peaceful in the garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Reflect about ecological living,
    understand how growing vegetables works,
    being creative with reusing waste or stuff found on the streets,
    learn how to make new candles out of used wax,
    learn how to make unique copies of paper books (diaries, notebooks),
    learn how to make your own deo and lip balm,
    cook jam,
    conserve vegetables and tomato sauce,
    listen to storys from my life,
    experience hospitality from a open-minded, warm-hearted lady
    ... or just do some meaningful work and be a great help to a single-mother five days a week five to six hours a day and get a free place to stay and organic food in exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help in my ecological garden, in my renovation needed flat and in my attic which should become a flat one day.
    Flat and garden are located in Nürnberg, city center, but also forest is in walking or cycling distance.

    My garden was not cultivated last year, so there is a lot of work to do. Good quality wood and access to professional carpenter's maschines can be provided for professionals.
    Possible tasks:
    - daily-rooting-out-weeds-medidation:-)
    - root out more weeds, cut bushes and trees, seed and water vegetables and flowers
    - build a new wooden house for the eco toilet
    - tear down an almost broken wall and remove a water basin from the ground
    - for creative and skilled craftspeople: build a dream-come-true play house for my daughter out of wood
    - for imaginative people: build new pathes through the garden using stones for mosaic

    I moved in my flat last year without renovating it in advance. So there are many jobs which could be done:
    - remove wallpapers, flatten, plaster and paint walls with clay colors
    - remove blue varnish from door frames
    - for professionals: remove old tiles in kitchen, tile the kitchen wall new, build mosaic with tiles in bathroom

    To my flat belongs a huge attic which should become a flat one day (with help of volunteers or monetary luck). At the moment only some plants, fleamarket stuff and fresh washed clothes live there. I am thinking about building a wooden guest room with bed and everything needed inside. I think this would also be a nice task, because you could sleep there afterwards and enjoy the view out of the huge window. Also in the attic there are walls to be plastered and painted new and insulation material to be fixed.

    In summer you can swim in the close-by Wöhrder See, chill in the hammock or visit the best bakery in town which is close-by.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, un peu Francais, un poco Italiano, थोड़ा सा हिन्दी, अलिकति नेपाली

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As I rented one room of my flat to an Indian girl now I cannot offer a proper private room to stay at the moment.
    But there are three interesting possibilites for you to sleep:
    1) huge comfortable couch in my living-working-playing-room (private only at night, only for some nights)
    2) mattresses (and soon bed) in the huge attic (a wooden-textile room-construction or tent could be build by you, private)
    3) sleeping couch in the garden house, hammock/tent in the garden (private)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideas for free time: visit medieval city center of Nürnberg and historical places, i.e. the former "Nazis", former Reichs Party Area (Reichsparteitagsgelände) is close-by, swim in nearby Wöhrder See or swimming pools, go around with bicycle or public transport, visit flea markets, museums, travel to Fränkische Schweiz or countryside

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Moving house the ecological way.
My attic where I want to build my flat one day.
The waste needs to be packed in sacks and carried down 80 steps to the backyard.
A friend of mine installed a wooden ceiling in my sleeping room. If you know how to do it you could do that in one of the other rooms.
Baustelle/Construction area - now it is my sleeping room.
My last house moving happened completely by feet.
I want to tear down this stall with your help and build a dream-come-true-playhouse for children at that place.
My daughter playing in the garden.
My super-working eco-toilet in the garden - you could build a new wooden house for it.
Welcome to my garden! A lot of work is waiting, but also a big hammock for relaxing.
At the moment a flatmate is living in the seperate sleeping room, but maybe she will move out.
Big couch in our playing and living room: You can use it for sleeping if you want.
The garden how it looked like some years ago. Unfortunately at the moment there are not so many flowers. But with your help there should be again a lot of blooming very soon. More garden photos will follow soon.
Host ref number: 642817496328