Enjoy a quiet life helping out on our smallholding in Central Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple aiming to live off-grid and be self sufficient on our small holding in rural Portugal. We fell in love with the country whilst on our own work away adventure and are striving to live a simple life close to nature and share our lifestyle with others.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in a very beautiful location in Central Portugal with many historic villages nearby such as the mountain village of Monsanto, and roman village of idanha-a-velha.

    We are 10 minute drive from the beautiful lake where Boom festival is held, and there are many amazing places to hike along ancient roads.

    We are in a very rural location, quiet and peaceful- perfect for getting away from a hectic city life for a while.
    There are also many local markets and events to attend, with a growing multicultural community.
    Many people are coming to our area, thinking to try and live a more simple life and maybe buy their own place, and we can share our experience so far and a slice of the lifestyle for those who are interested in 'escaping the system'.

  • Help

    Help

    We are still early in our project, meaning we have a wide variety of tasks to do all year round. Having an extra pair of hands will go a long way to help with things like building animal housing, renovating and old ruin, fencing, gardening (we are digging hügelkultur!), general maintenance, clearing, planting trees, constructing a sheltered area for a caravan, art projects like painting and sculpture, harvesting and preserving food. We are happy to be accommodating with the type of work you would like to try. We always welcome others who like to create something beautiful together.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For volunteers we can provide our campervan, equipped with one double bed and beautiful views out over Spain at sunrise, As well as a caravan which serves as a kitchen and living room. Both have solar power to charge devices during the day.
    There is also plenty of flat space to park a van.
    We have an outdoor solar shower and wood fired bath, as well as a composting toilet.
    There is an outdoor washing station for the kitchen.

    Food will be provided for you so you can cook for yourselves, though we would plan to cook and eat together at least a couple of times a week. You are welcome to help yourselves to food from the garden also.

    We have two friendly dogs and 2 snuggly cats, as well as chickens and ducks!

    Families and those traveling with well behaved animals are welcome.

    We require guests to have sufficient insurance in order to stay with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our nearest city is Castelo Branco (45 minutes by car), and we can pick and drop up any workaways without transport, however we'd recommend you come with your own vehicle if you want to make the most of the local area. In our village there is no shop, though there is a bar. The nearest town is called idanha-a-nova which is 15-20 minutes away by car.


    We're a very laid back couple and we enjoy socialising but also sometimes having time to ourselves. With this in mind, we would seek independent people who can take initiative and are easy going. We expect people to clean up after themselves and be respectful and responsible with our land and tools.

    It's important to us to make the experience fun and useful for volunteers, and hope to make new, likeminded friends along the way. We look forward to hearing from you, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have internet aviable but at the moment our solar can only be used during the day if the sun is out so all charging must happen in daylight hours, especially in winter.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have ample space for campervans and caravans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We welcome friendly dogs who will not bother chickens and ducks!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Up to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 642739294528