Help me restore a beautiful piece so we can enjoy this gift of nature close to Ericeira surf reserve Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 554 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Richard I'm from Scotland originally, but have lived in Portugal for over 2 years.🌈🙏
    I work as a massage therapist, yoga teacher, and swim instructor, living on the land with my Labrador Poppy.
    This land is really close to ericeira world surf reserve, Only 40 mins from Lisboa.
    The project is to restore the land with a vision of creating an open free space for all to get back to nature , practice yoga and be self sufficient with fruits , vegetables, and medicinal herbs. I would love help to improve the facilities, construct a greenhouse, a toolshed, yoga deck, build a tiny house, create a medicinal herb and kitchen garden..and many other dreams..
    The land is in lagoa, an agricultural small village. Only 5 mins from ribimar, and 7 mins from Ericeira. lagoa has 2 cafes a small bakery, 2 X small food shops)local restaurant, a mechanics, all within 5 min walking distance of the land. And the major shops,supermarkets and nightlife is close by in ericeira
    I am looking for a workaway who values communication, honesty, love, and has a open heart and mind, that enjoys this wonderful life. This should be a fun adventure, with joy, it's an exchange, and I want to share my knowledge of yoga,massage, holistic wellbeing, permaculture, music,handpan and guitar, and living sustainably and off grid.
    The work will mostly be outdoors and manual. It's off grid living, so experience with this is important, and experience working with tools .More important is enthusiasm, a strong work ethic , and ability to learn fast,and not scared to get a bit down n dirty with the land. To work physically is a must. Gardening( general maintenance, weeding, grass cutting, planting, fruit picking
    Landscaping( bridge building, create paths, build benches , seating areas chill out areas, cleaning and cooking.

    I'm also looking for a creative person with ideas..as the project is still so new . I am open for any input.

    Some ongoing projects I am currently working on. And would need help with

    Building a yoga Deck
    Tiny house build
    Path construction
    Stair construction
    Bridge construction
    Raised vegetable beds
    Maintenance and digging

    Maintenance of land
    Pond building
    Painting
    Artistic painting

    All with a whole lotta love💛
    10 days minimum stay.
    This project is not a business , it is a project that all those who contributed , help to create something beautiful, for all to enjoy 💛

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a yoga teacher with 11 years experience,and a massage therapist. There will be regular free yoga classes for you to participate in , and massage workshops to learn. I am Also a Ariel yoga teacher. And love to share and teach.
    Also I play guitar and hand pan, and enjoy to teach and play music with others.
    I am a swimming teacher / and ski instructor also , happy to share knowledge, and an intermediate surfer, happy also to share what I know. This is all about the exchange. So we both must gain from this.
    Look forward to connecting
    Richard 💛

  • Help

    Help

    Below are the ongoing jobs I would love help with. But not a requirement that you have experience to help with all! Instead, find the jobs that interest you most, and we work with that.. this should be fun and enjoyable...not a chore..i am an easy going flexible guy.


    Gardening ( weeding,grass cutting,planting,harvesting fruit, digging, pruning, cutting)

    Landscaping ( creating paths, rockeries, bridges, stair's , raised vegetable beds
    Carpentry( building benches ,storage boxes, yoga deck, tiny house)
    Painting( the above project,and sign writing)
    Administration( some email and phone calls)
    Construction (pizza oven, workout area, Ariel yoga deck)
    Cooking ( for 2/3 people max
    Cleaning(2/3 people.max)
    Dog walking

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak fluent English..but would love to improve my Portuguese, so would love to find someone to help with this

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tent ( not so large sleeps 2)
    Caravan sleeps 2
    Private cabin ( still to be built😉😋) build it and you have a gorgeous place to live...

    Food will be provided, as part of exchange. 3 X meals a day😄🙏 vegetarian/ vegan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have 2 x spare bike for use, close by there is amazing beaches and waves,the magical forest of sintra for climbing and sight seeing.
    The bus station in ericeira is close, and only 40 mins from Lisbon airport💛🙏 hope to speak soon

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can host digital nomads..there is a strong internet connection, but no WiFi at present and WiFi is available at the local cafe.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Campervans are welcome, but the access road is steep..so it needs good power to get up hill, and helps if not super heavy. In winter forget about it.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, food included

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 642673378783