Help a community filled with all sorts of interesting people in New York, USA


United States


Favourited 341 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We're a family of five living in the city of Rochester, New York (~500km from NYC). We live in a co-housing community that includes 7 other houses filled with all sorts of interesting people. The houses are spread out over a small area within our urban neighborhood. With all those houses, we also have plenty of projects! If you're interested in spending time in a diverse place with a fun group of people and a wide-range of tasks, this is the place for you. =)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love hosting travelers and exchanging culture. To-date we have hosted over 3,000 people from all over the world! You will have the opportunity to meet and learn from a diverse range of interesting people, to learn about community-building, and to help us do a bit of good in the world. =)

  • Help


    There are all sorts of opportunities to help here. We really want to utilize your skills and also make sure you enjoy your time here, so let us know if you'd prefer to focus on something (or if there's something you'd prefer not to do). Each day we'll have a list of tasks to complete made by one of our volunteer coordinators (usually Joe, Steve, or Erica).

    Home Improvement Projects:
    Whether you are a skilled carpenter or someone who's never held a hammer before, we have a project for you. And we're willing to teach as well. Right now we are rehabbing an entire house that has been completely gutted! When it's finished, it will be a 7-bedroom house with space for community gatherings on the 1st floor.

    We are particularly interested in learning Spanish and Italian, but we are open to learning other languages as well.

    Do you have artistic talent? We frequently contribute to public art projects.

    Landscaping and Gardening:
    We have several gardens with lots of fruits and vegetables. We need help with weeding, mulching, and maintaining the grounds (grass cutting, hedge trimming, etc).

    We have several house painting projects- interior and exterior

    Help in the house:
    The usual cooking, cleaning, and shopping

    If you have other ideas on how to help, let us know!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (fluent), Italian (conversational), Spanish (basic)

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own bed in a room that will potentially be shared with up to 2 other Workawayers (if you have a strong preference to share a room only with other males / females, please let us know). You will have access to the kitchen and other living areas. There is WiFi as well. At times, it may be necessary to move you to a different room. We ask that you are flexible about this.

    We will provide you with food to cook for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. These will be basic staples such as pasta, flour, oats, dried beans, rice, bread, and cereals. You are welcome to join us for any of our community meals as well. Please note that all of our community meals are vegan-friendly as are the food staples we provided (though you do not have to be a vegan to stay with us). You are also welcome to eat anything in our gardens (onions, peppers, tomatoes, kale, squash, cherries, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, gooseberries, currants, apples, potatoes, and more!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love hosting and spending time with our guests, but we are also very busy and might not always have time to show you around. Luckily, there are many fun things to do in Rochester! We will also provide you with many opportunities to meet new people and make new friends. =)

    -There is a great cafe on the corner where you can meet many of our neighbors and try several locally-produced foods.
    -We have a collection of bicycles that you can use to get around town. Rochester is a very bikeable city.
    -There are several parks within the city that are great for hiking around in.
    -Lake Ontario is close by with 3 public beaches to choose from.
    -We have a waterfall in the middle of the city and a pedestrian bridge that will take you across the gorge.
    -You can rent a kayak at the nearby Irondequoit Bay.
    -There is a local amusement park near the lake.
    -Rochester has many music venues, including the world-renowned Eastman School of Music
    -There are festivals every weekend June-August.
    -We have several farmers markets in the Rochester area.
    -Rochester is home to the National Museum of Play and also has science, art, and photography museums.
    -The Rochester Public Market is a 25-minute walk (10-minute bike ride). Open Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday.

    We are also very civically-engaged and often attend rallies, protests, public input meetings, etc.

    Please bring clothing that is okay to get dirty. =)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Rehabbing houses in style!
We promise not to work you too hard. =)
We often attend and help organize large group bike rides. This one is called the Seersucker Social and it takes place every spring!
We're just a 15-minute drive and 35-minute bike ride from Lake Ontario.
This is a neighborhood-based bike ride that happens each month, May-September.
We frequently have community meals in our Big Backyard.
We enjoy fresh fruit June-October with our strawberries, cherries, blueberries, apples, pears, peaches, gooseberries, raspberries, and currants.
A mural painting we helped organize. We'll be doing it again this August!
The vision for a house we are rehabbing.
More community artwork.
Cooperation makes it happen!
Group photo from the Beechwood Bike Ride and Community Picnic.
1920s bathroom restoration project.
Have you ever wanted to spray paint the entire interior of a house?

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.0)

Host ref number: 636514756783