Come and explore Argyll, Scotland and help us make our little farm special..

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    403

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active happy family who lives remotely in the Scottish Highlands. We have a small farm which is at least an hour from the nearest large town. My husband and I are both self employed and based from the farm. Our eldest son Ben is 5 and starting school in August, his little brother Jamie is 18 months old and at nursery 3 days a week except in the holidays..We had a lovely herd of pigs but unfortunately sold them recently, we are hoping to put some cabins up next year and trying to work the farm and make it sustainable...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can explore the west coast of Scotland, we love cooking and growing our own food, help with my horses - I am learning and working with natural horsemanship people..I run an ecology business which is pretty quiet right now but happy to teach anyone interested what I do - surveys and mapping wise...

  • Help

    Help

    Hi, we live on a small farm in a remote glen is Scotland. We are looking at make our farm sustainable and productive but due to 2 little children we have downsized our animals.

    We are currently putting in 30 hectares of Native Woodland, this involves stripping old fencing and putting up new fences before November 2019 - any help to strip fences or to help Tristan put the fencing up would be appreciated..

    We have a productive polytunnel which always needs attention, there is always work outside to do and also in the house - happy for any tidying, cooking and entertaining our two very friendly little boys..we have 3 dogs who love walks and attention,

    The grass is long and the orchard neglected...I’m looking for help to clear wire from fields, strim/mow, odds and end jobs out and about the farm depending on experience or help with the little one and his big brother to free up some of my time. We are remote but we have access to trains to Glasgow, Fort William, Oban and I head to Stirling once every couple of weeks so the west coast of Scotland can be explored..we have dogs, horses, sheep, a few cattle, native black bees and hens and ducks. Any help in the house would also be appreciated..

    We would love to have anyone who has experience dry stone walling as we have 30 metres of wall which is falling down. Tristan has done a walling course but could do with someone with experience to get this done...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare double room in the attic with a separate toilet, there are 2 showers/bathrooms downstairs which you would share with us. The office is also in the attic but rarely used at the moment! We all eat dinner together here, if you enjoy cooking happy for you to introduce us to new food...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are remote but we are happy to take you to the train stations in Dalmally which would take you Oban way which opens up the islands to you, Bridge of Orchy train station takes you to Fort William and beyond and Tyndrum can get you to Glasgow so plenty of places to explore, we are surrounded by mountains which we are happy to advise you on to access - we have all the maps and knowledge..I’m happy for you to come with me to Stirling/Callander if I’m heading there. We have bikes available to you some amazing biking in the area...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 636111166614