Help us set up as a permaculture, organic, self-sufficient, off-grid, ecological and a wildlife haven in La Fatarella, rural Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a large and varied finca (farm) in rural Spain, close to the coast, airports, trains, mountains & villages as well as the awesome catalonian cities like Barcelona. We are setting up as permaculture, organic, self-sufficient, off-grid, ecological and a wildlife haven. We have goats, chickens, a dog and many geckos!
    After many years planning, we moved into our farmhouse this last year and still have much to do and little in the way of luxuries. This will not be home away from home for sure, we live a very minimalist life but one rich in health and well-being.
    I had a long career as an IT specialist in London and my partner Eliz is Hungarian and she loves to cook great food, is a qualified RHS gardener and very talented and driven. For sure, you'd never be bored and would gain life skills and a great experience. Our ethos is about caring for our World by doing what we can locally, working hard, enjoying life, not harming others, being independent and building a centre of excellence for permaculture - with your help!

    Now this is important, we are really busy here and can only take in mature, experienced and strong workers who can fit right into the daily routine and challenging projects!!
    We simply don't have time for much teaching or offering practical life courses for those who are mainly out to explore the world. Good luck to you but for our needs, that won't work :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English, Hungarian, some German and of course, Spanish.
    We are building a centre for Permaculture, the first in this area. There are many important life skills from this ethos alone but we'll also pass on our skills and knowledge of farming, animal care, ecology and building practices e.g. how to build a straw/cobb shelter or a dry-stone pathway.
    Depending on preferences, we would encourage you to join us exploring and enjoying our part of Spain and in your own time, borrow a mountain bike, hike the hills, swim in the nearby sea or explore local villages.

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on the season, we tend to work within temperate periods i.e. not during the hottest times of the day! We'd much prefer to do short periods of focused work and then rest and enjoy life.
    You'd have very clear instructions, only enough supervision as needed, work across farm activities as appropriate to your abilities, learn from us and others we spend time with e.g. off-grid group workdays.
    We are very safety conscious, work within limits and skills, set reasonable expectations and appreciate motivated and exceptional people who will help us make our finca special.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hungarian, Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Initially we will provide a tent with a mattress only (bring your sleeping bag) but one of the early tasks will be to complete a small casita up on one of the terraces, which would offer future guest & workaway accommodation.
    We may also be setting up a caravan soon.

    We will provide for a vegetarian diet, 3 meals a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are several kilometers from nearby villages and off-grid as far as public transport is concerned. However, from our local town, there are very good bus & train services. We are only 40km from Reus airport also and 100km from Barcelona. We have a mountain bike for your use.
    Being in the hills, there are hundreds of pathways to explore and even our own finca is 12Ha and offered abundant walking and exploration.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Beautiful Los Geckos!


Host ref number: 635219238321