Help around the House and Garden in Yambol region, S.E. Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    243

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Sonia, I'm in my 50's, English and have lived in Bulgaria for just over 4 years. I am restoring an old Bulgarian house and would like to keep it traditional as possible with my renovations. I've never done anything like this before so I am learning lots as I go along.

    I live in a small, peaceful. rural village 35km from Yambol, the county town, south east Bulgaria and around 60km from the Turkish border crossing. There are 2 small general shops here and a lovely traditional Bulgarian bar where you can sit with the locals and enjoy a coffee or drink, traditional Bulgarian snacks and just relax. There is also a small village museum if your interested and a post office. There are some wonderful walks around the village taking in the beautiful countryside views.... You can experience the true spirit of Bulgaria here, the villagers are very friendly, they turn their land with a horse drawn plough and a donkey or horse and cart is a popular means of transport.
    I have 13 cats, 1 dog, Ted so you must be an animal lover and enjoy walking as Ted loves to go out. This is a very rural village, if you want nightlife and parties this won't be for you.

    This will be my fifth year on Workaway and I have met and had help from some amazing volunteers for which I'm very grateful. so i'm very much looking forward to meeting new ones this year.

    This year I'm needing some different help from volunteers as I've had some ill health and am not able to do as much. Help in the garden is needed, tidying, cutting back and making some no dig raised beds. The laying of stone beds to reduce maintenence. I need a door or two made from some old wood and wooden window frames stripped and renovated. Inside decorating needs done.
    General help with lifting, loading and heavy work inside and outside the house.

    I am looking for volunteers that are responsible and mature, that are happy with their own company, that enjoy managing their working time and are happy to work alone. Someone that enjoys being with the animals and nature but also enjoys good food and conversation. I have plenty of land to park up for van travelers if you wish. At the moment I can only offer tent accommodation or you can use your own. The roof has now been replaced and there is a lot of decorating to be done so I am able to move back into the main house from the spare bedroom.

    Covid 19. I am double vaccinated. I am not prepared to quarantine anyone. I wear a mask when required and just get on with my life keeping myself as safe and well as possible. I would expect the same from volunteers.

    For 25hrs a week help In exchange I will provide , hot showers, breakfast, lunch and dinner, fruit, biscuits for snacks. I do not provide alcohol or chocolate :) I also have wifi, washing machine, TV via the internet, lots of books and of course the animals to entertain you! ...... I look forward to showing you around my village and will make you most welcome in my humble home which is basic and needs a lot of work but has the essentials and is comfortable.

    When messaging please say what particular jobs you would like to help with.
    I'm not sure what a digital nomad is so havent ticked the box but if you are one please explain when you write.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will see and observe life in a working, rural Bulgarian village, maybe learn a few words of Bulgarian and meet the locals as well as seeing the wide open spaces & beautiful countryside around here. You will experience peace & quiet in natural surroundings.

  • Help

    Help

    Garden chores :_
    Weeding
    Mowing
    Tidying
    Sorting wood
    Stacking logs

    House cleaning:
    Washing down
    Cleaning windows
    Cleaning cupboards

    Decorating :_
    Stripping paint
    Filling
    Sanding
    Cleaning
    Painting

    General help :_
    Heavy lifting, shifting and loading.
    Small DIY projects/repairs

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Intermediate
    Bulgarian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Just tent Accommodation at present..either your own or mine, due to roof been replaced ........ comfortable, basic, single bedded room for one with a separate entrance to the main part of the house. You have to come down a couple of outside steps and into the main part of the house for the toilet and bathroom.
    I don't provide alcohol or confectionery but the village shops & bar sell them.
    I am happy to collect and take you to Yambol bus or train station for your arrival & departure if at a reasonable time.
    Non smoking prefer
    I am happy to cater for vegetarians although I eat meat.
    I do not cater for vegans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can visit Yambol there is a great museum packed with information and history, a beautiful park, cinema and lots of shops to browse as well as some great pavement cafes to have a coffee and watch the world go by. From Yambol you can get the bus or train to many other villages and towns including the Burgas and the coast. There is a traditional Bulgarian bar in the village that serves traditional Bulgarian drinks and snacks and meet the locals. The walks are wonderful around the village. I have internet so you can watch TV on your device and plenty of books to read. The city and coastline of Burgas are around 1 1/2 by train or bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Space in the garden to park a camper van, use of outdoor tap, electric socket. inside toilet & shower.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets welcome that get along with other cats & dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours a day/ 25hrs a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)












Host ref number: 634949717364